Campus Corner

The Star's blog on college sports, featuring Kansas, Kansas State and Missouri

Basketball writers name Wichita State’s Gregg Marshall national coach of the year

03/24/2014 11:22 AM

04/18/2014 11:45 AM

Wichita State coach Gregg Marshall was named Henry Iba Coach of the Year on Monday by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Marshall completed his seventh season at WSU on Sunday with a 78-76 loss to Kentucky in the Midwest Regional third round. The Shockers (35-1) were a No. 1 seed for the first time and entered the tournament as the nation’s second-ranked team.

Marshall will be honored at the USBWA awards dinner April 14 in Oklahoma City.

Other finalists were Michigan’s John Beilein, Virginia’s Tony Bennett, SMU’s Larry Brown, Saint Louis’ Jim Crews, Cincinnati’s Mick Cronin, Florida’s Billy Donovan, San Diego State’s Steve Fisher, Creighton’s Greg McDermott and Villanova’s Jay Wright.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service