All-SEC teams: Missouri’s Jabari Brown makes The Star’s and coaches’ first team

03/11/2014 10:55 PM

03/11/2014 10:55 PM

After becoming the first team to roll 18-0 through the Southeastern Conference, Florida swept most of the awards Tuesday when the coaches’ postseason honors were handed out.

Gators senior point guard Scottie Wilbekin was the conference’s player of the year and Billy Donovan was coach the year, but Missouri didn’t go empty-handed.

For the fourth consecutive year, the Tigers had a first-team all-conference selection in junior Jabari Brown. He joins previous first-team picks Marcus Denmon, who was first-team All-Big 12 in 2011 and again in 2012, and Phil Pressey, who was first-team All-SEC last season.

Meanwhile, fellow Missouri junior Jordan Clarkson landed on the second team.

Brown led the SEC at 19.7 points per game and with 20.7 points per game in conference play. He topped 20 points in 12 of 18 conference games.

Clarkson led the SEC with 191 field goals and was seventh overall in scoring at 18.1 points per game. He also ranked seventh in assists with 3.5 per game and ninth in assist-to-turnover ratio at 1.4.

Together, Brown and Clarkson formed the SEC’s highest-scoring teammate duo.

“I am so proud of Jabari and Jordan and applaud the way they have represented Mizzou as student-athletes,” Missouri coach Frank Haith said in a release from the school. “Their on-court numbers are outstanding and this honor is well-deserved, but I really commend their efforts as leaders and citizens within the Columbia community.”

Alabama senior Trevor Releford, a Bishop Miege graduate from Kansas City, also made the All-SEC first team along with Wilbekin and Brown.

Kentucky sophomore Willie Cauley-Stein, a graduate of Olathe Northwest, was chosen to the SEC’s all-defensive team.


Join the discussion

is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service