Campus Corner

The Star's blog on college sports, featuring Kansas, Kansas State and Missouri

Missouri’s James Franklin, Michael Sam added to awards watch lists

10/09/2013 5:35 PM

10/09/2013 5:40 PM

The Maxwell Football Club expanded its watch lists Monday for the 77th Maxwell Award and the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award, adding a Missouri player to both lists.

Senior quarterback James Franklin was added to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which has been given to the top college football player each year since 1937.

Franklin has been spectacular in

leading the 25th-ranked Tigers to a perfect 5-0 start


He has completed 68 percent of his passes — 114 of 168 — for 1,407 yards with 13 touchdowns and three interceptions while also rushing for 278 yards and two scores.

It’s been a

terrific return to form for Franklin

after a tough (and injury-marred) junior campaign.

Meanwhile, senior defensive end Michael Sam was added to the watch list for Bednarik Award, which has gone to college football’s top defensive player each year since 1995.

Sam leads the SEC in tackles for a loss with 10 and is tied for the conference lead in sacks (six). He has

keyed the defensive line’s recent surge

and also caught the attention of the Philadelphia-based club.

Senior cornerback E.J. Gaines, who has 32 tackles and three interceptions, was already on the watch list for the Bednarik Award.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service