Campus Corner

The Star's blog on college sports, featuring Kansas, Kansas State and Missouri

Elvin Hayes, Xavier McDaniel to join college basketball Hall of Fame

07/29/2013 9:37 AM

07/29/2013 9:41 AM

Players known by their initials complete the 2013 class of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame, the Hall announced on Monday.

Elvin Hayes —“The Big E” — a dominant force as a collegian at Houston and throughout his NBA career, and Wichita State’s Xavier “X-Man” McDaniel will be inducted on Nov. 24 at the Midland by AMC.

Hayes and McDaniel join UCLA’s Marques Johnson, Maryland’s Tom McMillen and Grambling’s Bob Hopkins, along with coaches Gene Keady of Purdue and Villanova’s Rollie Massimino, contributors George Raveling of Nike and George Killian of the International Basketball Federation.

The 1963 NCAA champion, Loyola (Chicago), also will be inducted.

The ceremony will precede the CBE Classic at the Sprint Center on Nov. 25-26, with Texas meeting Brigham Young and DePaul facing Wichita State in the semifinals.


Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service