Campus Corner

The Star's blog on college sports, featuring Kansas, Kansas State and Missouri

McGruder receives MVP award at K-State basketball banquet

04/16/2013 2:07 PM

05/20/2014 10:42 AM

K-State senior Rodney McGruder captured three awards, including most valuable player, during the Kansas State basketball banquet held earlier this week.

2012-13 Kansas State Men’s Basketball Team Awards:

Fort Riley Never Broken Award: Rodney McGruder

Ernie Barrett Play Hard Award: Angel Rodriguez

Keith Amerson Academic Award: Brian Rohleder

Dean Harris Newcomer of the Year Award: D.J. Johnson

Bob Boozer Courage Award: Will Spradling

Porky Morgan Most Inspirational Award: Martavious Irving

Ed Nealy Most Improved Award: Shane Southwell

Jack Hartman Top Defensive Player Award: Angel Rodriguez

Tex Winter Top Offensive Player Award: Rodney McGruder

Mitch Richmond Mr. Basketball Award: Jordan Henriquez

Rolando Blackman Most Valuable Player Award: Rodney McGruder

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service