Campus Corner

The Star's blog on college sports, featuring Kansas, Kansas State and Missouri

Danny Manning on all-time All-NCAA tourney team

04/05/2013 10:34 AM

05/20/2014 10:41 AM

ATLANTA _ An all-tournament team has long been part of the Final Four. Friday, the NCAA announced an all-time all-tournament team as part of its 75th birthday celebration.

The 15 top players of March Madness include Kansas’ Danny Manning, whose 31 points and 18 rebounds against Oklahoma in 1988 paved the way for one of the tournament’s biggest upset victories.

Fans and college sports personnel and media voted for the players, the all-time team _ the 1976 Indiana Hoosiers _ and the tournament’s greatest moment. That was the buzzer beater by Duke’s Christian Laettner against Kentucky to win the 1992 East Regional.

The top 15 players:

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, UCLA

Larry Bird, Indiana State

Bill Bradley, Princeton

Patrick Ewing, Georgetown

Grant Hill, Duke

Earvin “Magic” Johnson, Michigan State

Michael Jordan, North Carolina

Christian Laettner, Duke

Jerry Lucas, Ohio State

Danny Manning, Kansas

Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston

Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati

Bill Russell, San Francisco

Bill Walton, UCLA

Jerry West, West Virginia

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service