Campus Corner

The Star's blog on college sports, featuring Kansas, Kansas State and Missouri

Klein, Brown lead six Wildcats on All-Big 12 list

12/05/2012 11:35 AM

05/16/2014 8:28 PM

The Kansas State football team was well-represented when Big 12 coaches and media announced their all-conference teams Wednesday.

Wildcats quarterback Collin Klein was named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year by both groups, and coach Bill Snyder swept the Coach of the Year award.

Linebacker Arthur Brown was named Defensive Player of the Year by the league’s coaches, while Meshak Williams took home Defensive Lineman of the Year honors.

But they weren’t the only ones singled out. K-State led the league with six first-team All-Big 12 selections. Sophomore center B.J. Finney, senior tight end Travis Tannahill and junior safety Ty Zimmerman joined Klein, Brown and Williams. The Wildcats also produced five second-team selections and eight honorable mentions.

Oklahoma State had the second-most first-team selections with five. Wichita native Joseph Randle led the way for the Cowboys at running back.

K-State’s second-team selections were left tackle Cornelius Lucas, receiver Tyler Lockett, kicker Anthony Cantele, defensive lineman Adam Davis and cornerback Nigel Malone.

The awards could keep coming for K-State. Klein is one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented at a ceremony in New York on Saturday.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service