Campus Corner

July 12, 2012

Four Tigers make the coaches' preseason All-SEC team

The coaches from the Southeastern Conference have released their preseason All-SEC Team, and the results are, well, interesting.

Campus Corner

The Star's blog on college sports, featuring Kansas, Kansas State and Missouri

The coaches from the Southeastern Conference released their preseason All-SEC team this morning, and the results are pretty interesting.

The Tigers had four players - receiver T.J. Moe, left tackle Elvis Fisher, linebacker Zaviar Gooden and cornerback E.J. Gaines - named to the league's third team, but Missouri was the only school in the league not to receive a first or second team selection.

Vanderbilt was close to join Missouri in that regard - the Commodores didn't have a first teamer either - but running back Zac Stacy was named to the second team at running back.

The list is predictably dominated by annual heavy-hitters like LSU and Alabama. LSU has a league-high seven players on the first team, while Alabama has four first teamers. Both schools each had 11 players named to the team, in all, while Arkansas had the next-highest with 10.

Texas A, who bolted the Big 12 along with Missouri, had three players - receiver Ryan Swope, offensive lineman Luke Joeckel and linebacker Sean Porter - named to the league's first team.

To reach Terez A. Paylor, call 816-234-4489 or send email to Follow him at


Read more here:

Related content



Sports Videos