816 North girls hoops: All-Suburban Conference teams

04/01/2014 5:26 PM

04/01/2014 5:27 PM

The Missouri high school version of March Madness finished without a girls basketball state champion from Kansas City. But it wasn't a lost season.

Kearney completed a second straight unbeaten season in the Suburban Blue Conference. Staley earned a share of the Suburban White Conference title a year after finishing five games off the pace. North Kansas City shook off a rebuilding season and reached the Class 5 state quarterfinals.

The teams shared plenty of accomplishments, even if they didn't include state titles.

And individual accomplishments followed over the past week.

Kearney's full starting lineup was honored with individual accolades. Senior Meagan Paul, senior Jessi Hartzler and junior Taylor Doan were named to the Suburban Blue Conference first team, joined by Grandview seniors Alex Dobbins and Drea Lesure and Winnetonka junior Brandy Mends. Kearney seniors Allie Hess and Chandler Gallagher headlined the second team, along with Grandview sophomore Tatiana McCree, Platte County sophomore Rachel Holden, Liberty North senior Zoe Albon and Raytown South senior Jazzlyn Wimbush.

Staley senior Monique Townson, who scored 25 points per game, led the Suburban White Conference first team, which also featured North Kansas City senior Aries Washington, Fort Osage seniors Raven Bunn and Asia Cole and Raytown junior Kyessence Collins. The second team consisted of Selena Salas of North Kansas City, Haley Rodriguez of William Chrisman, Emily Ballard of Oak Park, Ashley Harvey of Raytown and Adreon Bell of William Chrisman. Honorable mention selections from the conference were Belton freshman Courtnie Lewis, Staley senior Saije Buck, Fort Osage sophomore Paige Bunn, Raytown sophomore Philomena Lammers and North Kansas City sophomores Shelby Jordan and Kianna Lane.

Truman owned three spots on the Suburban Red Conference all-star first team with senior Becca Jonas, senior Abby Hix and sophomore Bri Savidge. The trio was joined on the first team by Lee's Summit West juniors Austin Richardson and Taylor Jackson. The second team featured three Park Hill South players — seniors Samantha Roy and Morgan Keesee and junior Mackenzie Stout — along with Park Hill junior Jaleiyah Gibbs and St. Joseph Central sophomore Kylie Williams. The honorable mentions were Truman senior Ashley McKinney, Truman sophomore Sidney Paialii, Truman sophomore Alexis Hart, Lee's Summit West sophomore Elle Sandbothe, Park Hill sophomore Amanda Alexander, Park Hill junior Kaylyn Magee, Ruskin junior Antoinette Daniels and Ruskin senior Erione Gant.

Lee's Summit North won the Suburban Gold Conference, and the Broncos were rewarded with two first-team selections — seniors Imani Johnson and Erica Nelson. Blue Springs South senior Remy Davenport, Blue Springs South junior Cloe Lane and Lee's Summit junior Eriyonna Jones rounded out the first team. The second team from the conference consisted of Liberty senior Taylor Wetzel, Blue Springs junior Brianna Tauai, Blue Springs junior Aliyah Lee, Raymore-Peculiar sophomore Meghan Maher and Liberty sophomore Morgan Fleming.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service