Missouri’s Pinkel wins regional coaching award

12/11/2013 10:01 AM

12/11/2013 10:55 PM

Missouri’s Gary Pinkel was chosen as a regional coach of the year by the American Football Coaches Association on Wednesday.

In addition to the AFCA honor, one of five given out in the Football Bowl Subdivision, Pinkel is one of eight finalists for the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year award given by the Football Writers Association of America.

The other finalists are Baylor’s Art Briles, Duke’s David Cutcliffe, Michigan State’s Mark Dantonio, Florida State’s Jimbo Fisher, Central Florida’s George O’Leary, Stanford’s David Shaw and Auburn’s Gus Malzahn, who was chosen Southeastern Conference coach of the year by the Associated Press and was announced as the Home Depot Coach of the Year on Wednesday.

Benedictine’s Larry Wilcox was the AFCA’s coach of the year in NAIA Region 3.

• Missouri senior Michael Sam added a SEC co-defensive player of the year award to his Associated Press conference defensive player of the year award Wednesday.

Sam, who led the SEC with 10 1/2 sacks and 18 tackles for loss, shared the coaches’ honor with Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service