<![CDATA[As I See It | The Kansas City Star & KansasCity.com]]> http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/ en-us Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:08:11 CDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:08:11 CDT As I See It 60 Allan Katz: The Iran debate is a fact-free zone http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article33249804.html#storylink=rss Allan Katz of Kansas City, who served as U.S. ambassador to Portugal from 2010 to 2103 and is the founder of the American Public Square, writes: A vigorous, fact-based debate on the Iran nuclear deal is needed — for the country and the world. The capacity for such debates is vitally important to the fiber of democracy, but we seem unable to achieve them today on any issue of great importance.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 01 Sep 2015 17:21:08 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article33249804.html
Taylor Hirth: Missouri lawmakers should address and fix the real issues of sexual harassment http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article32358147.html#storylink=rss Former Missouri legislative intern Taylor Hirth writes: None of the provisions on sexual harassment offered up by legislators appear to address the underlying issue or put in place any new protections for those who aren’t interns. Focusing on the intern program shifts blame, brushes off responsibility and denies a larger culture where power and manipulation go unchecked until a poor soul risks her future to speak up.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 25 Aug 2015 14:46:21 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article32358147.html
Amber Hinsley: Journalism students learn many lessons from Ferguson http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article31841130.html#storylink=rss Amber Hinsley, a journalism professor at Saint Louis University, writes: The issues and events collectively known as “Ferguson” also are a lesson in understanding that the right to assemble as an act of free speech must be balanced with the need to provide public safety and to ensure the ability of journalists to report the news as part of a free press.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 21 Aug 2015 18:15:52 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article31841130.html
Katharine Morgan: Empower workers to build the planes of the future http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article31473031.html#storylink=rss Katharine Morgan, executive vice president of ASTM International, writes: Over the next 20 years, global aviation will add 38,000 planes requiring 600,000 more technicians. With many manufacturers and airlines already reporting shortages, we simply must build a stronger pipeline of skilled workers to these good-paying jobs.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 18 Aug 2015 17:12:25 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article31473031.html
Kenneth V. Hager: After a leadership change, the Lyric Opera has a brighter future http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article30730803.html#storylink=rss Lyric Opera board president Kenneth V. Hager writes: We wish Ward Holmquist well in his future endeavors. But the board has a responsibility to the community to be the best steward for the organization, and I have no doubt the board made the right decision in eliminating his position. We sincerely hope that your faith in the Lyric Opera extends beyond one person.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 11 Aug 2015 15:55:05 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article30730803.html
Jill Lawlor: Saving energy in multifamily housing is an easy way to solve problems http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article30440208.html#storylink=rss Jill Lawlor, fund development manager at Blue Hills Community Services in Kansas City, writes: Kansas City has taken significant steps to increase energy efficiencies of late. As we move forward, it is important that those living in multifamily buildings are not left behind.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 09 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article30440208.html
John Lovenburg: Air quality study of KCK rail yard is ‘biased,’ misleading http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article29985123.html#storylink=rss BNSF vice president John Lovenburg writes: BNSF was disappointed by a Kansas City Star editorial that relied on a biased, non-scientific study to suggest rail operations in Argentine might pose health threats to the community.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 04 Aug 2015 17:47:49 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article29985123.html
John G. Carney: How do we prepare for the realities of dying? http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article29208832.html#storylink=rss John G. Carney, president and CEO of the Center for Practical Bioethics in Kansas City, writes: 75 percent of Americans claim that preparing a living will and appointing a health care proxy are critically important. Yet fewer than one-third of us do anything to make it happen.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 28 Jul 2015 17:02:33 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article29208832.html
As I See It: ADA anniversary a cause for celebration, but there’s work left to do http://www.kansascity.com/news/local/community/joco-913/joco-opinion/article28859395.html#storylink=rss My recent trip to Arrowhead Stadium to see the Rolling Stones with my teenage son would not have been possible without the Americans with Disabilities Act, signed 25 years ago this week.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 27 Jul 2015 13:35:52 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/news/local/community/joco-913/joco-opinion/article28859395.html
Lisa Johnston: A lesson in characters, candidates and favorability http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article28656829.html#storylink=rss Lisa Johnston, a former candidate for office, writes: Most people find the results of a recent candidate favorability poll amusing and chalk them up to our general disdain for politicians. However, if we think about the results more carefully, the poll speaks volumes about what is required to be viewed favorably.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 26 Jul 2015 09:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article28656829.html
Ray Mabus: Kansas City is playing a vital role in maintaining American seapower http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article28055020.html#storylink=rss Ray Mabus, the secretary of the Navy, writes: On Monday, I visited Kansas City to name the Navy’s newest littoral combat ship, USS Kansas City. A ship’s naming is the first milestone in bringing it to life, and here it continues the long tradition and strong connection between the people of Kansas City and our Navy.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 21 Jul 2015 17:33:27 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article28055020.html
Jon Stephens: Why we need a convention center hotel http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article28003237.html#storylink=rss Former convention association head Jon Stephens writes: The benefits of a convention center hotel to our community are undeniable. Increased tourism strengthens our existing investments in downtown and throughout the community.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 21 Jul 2015 09:27:25 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article28003237.html
Heywood Sanders: Ask harder questions on KC’s convention hotel plan http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article27249817.html#storylink=rss Heywood Sanders, a professor of public administration at the University of Texas, San Antonio, writes: Before Kansas City’s public and private leadership ties taxpayers to a long-term commitment to a hotel developer, it makes sense to ask what is being promised for Kansas City and how other cities’ investments in hotels and convention centers have fared in recent years.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 14 Jul 2015 17:08:15 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article27249817.html
Colleen Coble: End the backlog on rape kit testing http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article27013627.html#storylink=rss Colleen Coble, the chief executive officer for the Missouri Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence, writes: Recently the Joyful Heart Foundation announced that Kansas City has 1,324 untested rape kits in law enforcement evidence storage facilities. Sadly, Kansas City is not alone.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 12 Jul 2015 09:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article27013627.html
Kathleen Lynch: Osawatomie State Hospital needs to be fixed http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article26690740.html#storylink=rss Kathleen Lynch, a judge in the Wyandotte County District Court, writes: It is time for the state to invest in its hospital system and bring Osawatomie State Hospital back to a capacity that can serve the people who need it the most: people with serious mental illness.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 07 Jul 2015 17:17:54 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article26690740.html
John Fairfield: Support the expansion of the U.S. passenger rail system http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article26185396.html#storylink=rss John Fairfield, a Kansas City attorney and a former member of the City Council, writes: It is time to tell legislators to stop the train bashing and get to the business of investing in the infrastructure and resulting jobs that Americans want. That means more, not less, passenger rail.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 05 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article26185396.html
Nicole Nickens: In the new Missouri teacher licensing tests, results are misleading http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25923097.html#storylink=rss Nicole Nickens, a professor and department chair at the University of Central Missouri and an executive board member of the Missouri Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, writes: When a test produces a very high fail rate, a good educator doesn’t say, “My students are all stupid,” but rather, “I did not adequately help my students understand this content.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 30 Jun 2015 17:36:51 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25923097.html
Dick Phalen: The Confederate flag is a repulsive symbol that should not fly http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25356460.html#storylink=rss Dick Phalen of Kansas City, North, a retired computer programmer, writes: In the midst of the tragedy at the historic Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, S.C., was that repugnant Confederate flag. It’s time in this land to finally bury that flag and forbid its display on any governmental building anywhere.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 23 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25356460.html
Dan Glickman: A year of national service for young Americans could restore trust in government http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25050583.html#storylink=rss Dan Glickman, who represented Kansas in the U.S. House from 1977 to 1995 and was U.S. secretary of agriculture from 1995 to 2001 and is currently a senior fellow at the Bipartisan Policy Center, writes: Our nation needs to rededicate itself to the merit of service to re-engage the next generation.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 21 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25050583.html
Michelle Obama: Military families deserve special thanks on Father’s Day http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24993601.html#storylink=rss On Friday, two days before Father’s Day, I visited U.S. Army Garrison Vicenza, our military installation in northern Italy that is home to thousands of American service members and their families.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 19 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24993601.html
Marian McCaa Thomas: Westport Presbyterian Church rebuilds old with new http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24653773.html#storylink=rss Marian McCaa Thomas, retired organist and choir director at Westport Presbyterian Church, writes: I prefer to celebrate the Westport Presbyterian Church’s history while looking forward to having up-to-date buildings from which to continue our ministry.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 16 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24653773.html
Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach: I beg to differ on new voter fraud law http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24500476.html#storylink=rss Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach writes: "Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback recently signed a bill giving the secretary of state and the attorney general the authority to prosecute voter fraud. Combined with the photo-ID and proof-of- citizenship reforms enacted in 2011, Kansas now has the strongest protections in the country against voter fraud. As secretary of state, I initiated these reforms."

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 15 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24500476.html
Mark H. Levin: In a case of new economic slavery, the state of Kansas is losing its soul http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article23600896.html#storylink=rss Rabbi Mark H. Levin of Congregation Beth Torah in Overland Park writes: “The slogan that ‘We do better deciding where to spend our own money’ is not only increasing poverty, causing people to die by ignoring their medical needs, destroying families and schools and costing more money than if we put available systems in place to solve all of these problems.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 09 Jun 2015 15:48:31 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article23600896.html
Scott McCandless: O, say, you should see our national parks http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article23236176.html#storylink=rss Scott McCandless, a partner at the law firm of Shook, Hardy & Bacon, writes: Our national parks have been described as “America’s Best Idea.” As the summer travel season heats up, go see if you agree.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 07 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article23236176.html
Nick Connery: There is no ‘War on Christianity’ by Muslims in the U.S. http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22936080.html#storylink=rss Nick Connery, 28, an Army veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom who serves in the Missouri Army National Guard, writes: In order to metaphorically “stick it” to Muslims, anti-Islam rallies are popping up all over the Southwest. But to understand what’s really going on, look at the amount of hate-crime violence that Muslims face in the United States every year compared to Christians.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 02 Jun 2015 15:28:15 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22936080.html
Robert Hill: Confronting a name at the Vietnam wall prompts gratitude and resolve http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22810278.html#storylink=rss The Rev. Robert Lee Hill, the pastor of Community Christian Church in Kansas City, writes: “As I walked away from the traveling wall, I offered a silent prayer, a prayer that was, as the war was, complicated, full of poignant thanks for those who so willingly served, anguished grief over the collective blundering that resulted in so many deaths, and resolve to help, as best I can, those who remain and those still coming home from further wars.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 01 Jun 2015 14:15:52 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22810278.html
Robert Willson: In a time of lazy language, I have a ‘problem’ with ‘issues’ http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22367481.html#storylink=rss Robert Willson, professor emeritus of English at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, writes: Somewhere along the usage highway, we took the wrong exit and started labeling any problem or question an “issue.” I suspect that the usage might have been born out of the age of psychobabble.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 26 May 2015 15:46:26 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22367481.html
Sam Roche: Sen. Pat Roberts can save the Eisenhower Memorial project in Washington http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21738285.html#storylink=rss Sam Roche, who writes on architecture and urban planning and is the spokesman for Right by Ike: Project for a New Eisenhower Memorial, writes: The Eisenhower Memorial Commission has refused to reconsider the Frank Gehry design — a policy it should change under Sen. Pat Roberts’ new leadership and with input from Kansans. To get Ike’s memorial built, we need to redesign it.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 24 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21738285.html
Wendy Guillies: After KC superintendent’s departure, it’s time to seize the opportunity to succeed http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21401682.html#storylink=rss Wendy Guillies, the acting president and CEO of the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, writes: The emergence of broad support for a program like City Year is an indication that there is a desire to promote and invest in the school district when it is clear the status quo is unacceptable.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 19 May 2015 15:26:11 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21401682.html
Dan Knight: Punishment for juveniles convicted of murder should fit the crime http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20770287.html#storylink=rss Dan Knight of Boone County, president of the Missouri Association of Prosecuting Attorneys, writes: We trust our juries and our judges to make the right decisions about guilt. We should trust them with a full range of punishment for society’s worst killers, even those who are under 18.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 12 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20770287.html