<![CDATA[As I See It | The Kansas City Star & KansasCity.com]]> http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/ en-us Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:08:11 CDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:08:11 CDT As I See It 60 Wendy Guillies: After KC superintendent’s departure, it’s time to seize the opportunity to succeed http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21401682.html#storylink=rss Wendy Guillies, the acting president and CEO of the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, writes: The emergence of broad support for a program like City Year is an indication that there is a desire to promote and invest in the school district when it is clear the status quo is unacceptable.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 19 May 2015 15:26:11 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21401682.html
Dan Knight: Punishment for juveniles convicted of murder should fit the crime http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20770287.html#storylink=rss Dan Knight of Boone County, president of the Missouri Association of Prosecuting Attorneys, writes: We trust our juries and our judges to make the right decisions about guilt. We should trust them with a full range of punishment for society’s worst killers, even those who are under 18.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 12 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20770287.html
Kara M. Bollinger: The kids at Rosedale Ridge have been an inspiration http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20554095.html#storylink=rss Kara M. Bollinger, a writer and college instructor who lives in Kansas City, writes: I often don’t have the imagination to hope in my own life, especially when I can’t see a solution or control the outcome. But the kids at Rosedale Ridge give me hope. They make me believe in resiliency and restoration and potential. I want them to have a fair chance.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 10 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20554095.html
NeighborWorks helps seniors thrive in Kansas City http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20354331.html#storylink=rss John Santner, As I See It: In April, AARP released its new online rating tool that ranks nearly every neighborhood in the United States on its suitability for aging-in-place, using factors such as ease of getting around and public policies that promote aging, and Kansas City failed to make the cut.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 06 May 2015 12:50:34 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20354331.html
Rita Boller and Gene Kimmi: The Kansas death penalty is broken http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20295846.html#storylink=rss Rita Boller and her brother Gene Kimmi, whose mother, Patricia Kimmi, was murdered in northeast Kansas a little over five years ago, write: Ultimately, our family remained committed in our opposition to the death penalty. That is what Mom would have wanted. She instilled in us the core value that we should protect all life, from conception to natural death.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 05 May 2015 17:19:58 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20295846.html
Bill Tuttle: 70 years ago, Japan’s other attack on U.S. http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20203071.html#storylink=rss Seventy years ago this week, on May 5, 1945, six Americans, five of them children between the ages of 11 and 14, were killed in the explosion of a Japanese bomb in the uplands of south-central Oregon.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 04 May 2015 15:13:09 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20203071.html
Nathan Louis Jackson: A playwright observes the world and discovers how families collide and divide http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19829538.html#storylink=rss Nathan Louis Jackson, As I See It: As a playwright, it is a necessity that I closely observe the world around me. I then form an opinion based on what I’ve observed and express that opinion by recreating the world on stage. This often requires me to separate myself from the world around me, so I can take an objective look at it. Just like a scientist, I must sometimes resist the urge to interact with the subject being studied.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 28 Apr 2015 17:38:14 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19829538.html
Joan Blades: Seeking common ground on a better criminal justice system http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19408017.html#storylink=rss Joan Blades, co-founder of MoveOn.org, MomsRising.org and LivingRoomConversations.org, writes: Ever since I began having Living Room Conversations with conservatives, I’ve been learning just how aligned citizens from across the political spectrum are when it comes to our criminal justice system. We all want to live in safe communities.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 26 Apr 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19408017.html
Bob Berkebile and Joanne Collins: Benchmarking the energy use of Kansas City buildings makes sense http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19165446.html#storylink=rss Bob Berkebile, a principal of BNIM Architects and co-chair of Kansas City’s Environmental Management Commission, and Joanne Collins, a former City Council member and chair of the city’s Climate Protection Steering Committee, write: The Kansas City region has an opportunity to create local jobs, help protect our health and save money. How? By enacting a benchmarking ordinance that would measure energy usage of large buildings and report the findings.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 21 Apr 2015 15:45:31 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19165446.html
Andrew Barnes: Don’t squander opportunity at Metcalf South http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article18525362.html#storylink=rss Andrew Barnes, who grew up in Overland Park and now practices architecture in Dallas, writes: Metcalf South is a site wrapped in history and nostalgia. But what is currently standing at 95th Street and Metcalf Avenue is a failed development rooted in planning and retail trends of the mid-1900s. To thrive, the “Central Square” plans must offer something more than what is currently proposed.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 14 Apr 2015 16:31:17 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article18525362.html
Naomi Beeman: Adjunct college teachers deserve a living wage http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article18213206.html#storylink=rss Naomi Beeman, who teaches at Park University and the Kansas City Art Institute, writes: Family and friends who know that I have spent much of my adult life earning a B.A. and Ph.D. from two top-ranked universities are surprised to learn that my youngest sibling — who holds a GED, works in retail in Topeka and changes jobs frequently — earns more per year than I do teaching a full load of college classes at multiple institutions in Kansas City.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 12 Apr 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article18213206.html
Tom Petrizzo: Missouri lawmakers have a double standard on the health of roads and people http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17743646.html#storylink=rss Tom Petrizzo, CEO of Tri-County Mental Health Services, writes: At a recent legislator forum in the Northland, the topic that consumed the most time and discussion was roads and a proposed increase in the gas tax. In the Missouri legislature, state tax revenue for roads is a greater priority than health care coverage for the poor citizens of Missouri.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 07 Apr 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17743646.html
Jean Peters Baker: Public safety threat involving Missouri firearms must be fixed http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17140508.html#storylink=rss Jean Peters Baker, the Jackson County prosecutor, writes: About this time last year, I joined law enforcement officials around the state to warn the Missouri General Assembly that it was about to approve language with potentially deadly consequences. The legislature didn’t listen then, and now it’s poised to make things worse.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 01 Apr 2015 17:08:22 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17140508.html
Mindy Corporon: How to heal and make a ripple by reaching out http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17036540.html#storylink=rss Mindy Corporon, whose father and son were killed outside the Jewish Community Center on April 13, 2014, writes: Can seven days of love and other focused activities really make a ripple to change the world? We think so. We must take a stand with the idea that it is better to “love your neighbor as yourself.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 31 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17036540.html
Joelouis Mattox: We all must work together to overcome racism http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article16845521.html#storylink=rss March is National Woman’s History Month. Joelouis Mattox, a former member of the Missouri Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission On Civil Rights, dedicates this column to Lucile H. Bluford, who encountered state-sponsored racism in 1939 when she was denied admission to the University of Missouri School of Journalism.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 29 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article16845521.html
Andrew Johnson: No one wins in school talk failure http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article16213946.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Tue, 24 Mar 2015 17:52:57 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article16213946.html
Mayor Sly James: Do what it takes to keep the entrepreneurial spirit growing in Kansas City http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article15117338.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Tue, 17 Mar 2015 16:39:17 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article15117338.html
Matt Condon: The Startup Act is being held up in Congress, delaying job growth and economic development http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article14088962.html#storylink=rss Matt Condon of Fairway, champion of the Greater Kansas City Chamber’s Big 5 Entrepreneurship Initiative, writes: The Startup Act is about economic development. It would immediately initiate growth in new businesses and support our country’s incredibly important small business sector, which generates over a million new jobs each year, accounting for most of the nation’s annual job creation.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 13 Mar 2015 21:44:07 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article14088962.html
Jacob W. Kipp: Is this a new Cold War or far worse? http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article13217336.html#storylink=rss Jacob W. Kipp, who retired from federal service in 2009 and is an adjunct professor at the University of Kansas in Russian, East European and Eurasian studies, writes: Dead Russians and dead Americans will not guarantee a de-escalation of the conflict in Ukraine. Instead, both sides are very likely going to be trapped in a dialectic of escalation.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 10 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article13217336.html
Jack Danforth’s eulogy for Missouri Auditor Tom Schweich: He fought for the high ground http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article12307403.html#storylink=rss Former U.S. Sen. Jack Danforth, in eulogizing Missouri Treasurer Tom Schweich said that the campaign that led to the death of Schweich was the low point of politics, and now it’s time to turn this around. So let’s make Tom’s death a turning point here in our state.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 03 Mar 2015 17:19:53 CST http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article12307403.html
Don Schoening: My granddaughters found balance in China http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article12315005.html#storylink=rss Don Schoening, a retired federal executive and now a substitute teacher in the Olathe School District who lives in Lenexa, writes: Our daughter feels more comfortable being a free-range mother in Shanghai, with 23 million residents, than in Southern California. The girls are taking Mandarin in school and can give directions to taxicab drivers.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 03 Mar 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article12315005.html
Lawton R. Nuss: In selecting Kansas justices, the current merit system works best http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article11352905.html#storylink=rss Lawton R. Nuss, who has served on the Kansas Supreme Court since 2002 and as chief justice since 2010, writes: Perhaps those admirers of the Lone Star State who want to turn Kansas’ 57-year-old merit selection system into Texas-style elections should carefully consider the opinion of the former chief justice of the Texas Supreme Court.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 27 Feb 2015 13:37:54 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article11352905.html
Mike Burke: Create the smart Interstate 70 of the future http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article11091512.html#storylink=rss Mike Burke, a Kansas City attorney who co-chaired the Mayors Bistate Innovation Team and serves on the board of KC Digital Drive, writes: Picture the year 2027. You must be in St. Louis for an afternoon meeting. You hop into your car, all electric, punch in the address of the destination in St. Louis and hit the “Travel” button. For the next four hours or so you can relax knowing that you do not have to worry about driving.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 24 Feb 2015 16:13:24 CST By MIKE BURKE

Special to The Star

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article11091512.html
Caroline Meek: A high value for arts in education depends on fully funding schools http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article10541087.html#storylink=rss Caroline Meek, a student at Sumner Academy for the Arts and Science in Kansas City, Kan., writes: America values a good education. This value, however, appears to have become trivialized in our state of Kansas.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 17 Feb 2015 15:43:50 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article10541087.html
Jon Copaken: As people and businesses shift back to the heart of Kansas City, downtown’s time is now http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article10158044.html#storylink=rss Jon Copaken, principal at Copaken Brooks and newly named chairman of the Downtown Council, writes: Companies seeking to tap a broader talent pool and get into the flow of innovation are looking back to downtown. The leaders and influencers who deny that the move to downtown is real — and is even in their best interest — need to ask themselves why the innovative, entrepreneurial companies see it, understand it and are doing it.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 15 Feb 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article10158044.html
Aaron Deacon: Kansas City has a big role to play in the debate over Internet access and net neutrality http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article9680756.html#storylink=rss Aaron Deacon, managing director of KC Digital Drive, a local nonprofit seeking tech solutions for a better city, writes: The Internet may be open, but it certainly isn’t free. Amid all the lessons learned in Kansas City’s tech boom of the last few years, this one may be the most important.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 10 Feb 2015 13:18:41 CST By AARON DEACON

Special to The Star

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article9680756.html
Maurice A. Watson: President Obama made a top-notch pick of Loretta Lynch for attorney general http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article9141191.html#storylink=rss The U.S. attorney general job is an important one. The “general” leads the U.S. Department of Justice, enforces rights established by the Constitution and statutes of the United States, prosecutes violations of federal law, protects our nation from violence and terrorism, and ensures the president and all federal agencies follow the law.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 03 Feb 2015 17:07:16 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article9141191.html
Elliott Clark: Beware the debt trap of payday loan firms http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article8835869.html#storylink=rss Elliott Clark of Kansas City, a husband, father, Christian, Marine Corps veteran and volunteer with Communities Creating Opportunity, writes: The good news is that the federal government, specifically the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, is working on a new set of rules that, if done right, could curb the worst abuses of payday lenders.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 01 Feb 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article8835869.html
The Rev. Rafael Garcia: There is hope for our link to Cuba http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article8360205.html#storylink=rss The Rev. Rafael Garcia, a native of Cuba and the pastor of St. Francis Xavier Parish in Kansas City, writes: Change is needed and probably inevitable, especially after soon-to-be 56 years of Castro family dictatorship, but the question is how can this realistically happen?

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 27 Jan 2015 15:16:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article8360205.html
Donna Ziegenhorn: Huge misperception of Islam requires more understanding http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article7769340.html#storylink=rss Donna Ziegenhorn, author of “The Hindu and the Cowboy,” a play inspired by stories from Kansas Citians of numerous faith and cultural traditions, writes: We face a long walk in understanding Islam. But it’s a walk that’s needed for a 21st century in which the positive, humanistic threads of all our world’s religious (and nonreligious) traditions can be known and valued.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 20 Jan 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article7769340.html