<![CDATA[As I See It | The Kansas City Star & KansasCity.com]]> http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/ en-us Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:08:11 CDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:08:11 CDT As I See It 60 Nicole Nickens: In the new Missouri teacher licensing tests, results are misleading http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25923097.html#storylink=rss Nicole Nickens, a professor and department chair at the University of Central Missouri and an executive board member of the Missouri Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, writes: When a test produces a very high fail rate, a good educator doesn’t say, “My students are all stupid,” but rather, “I did not adequately help my students understand this content.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 30 Jun 2015 17:36:51 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25923097.html
Dick Phalen: The Confederate flag is a repulsive symbol that should not fly http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25356460.html#storylink=rss Dick Phalen of Kansas City, North, a retired computer programmer, writes: In the midst of the tragedy at the historic Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, S.C., was that repugnant Confederate flag. It’s time in this land to finally bury that flag and forbid its display on any governmental building anywhere.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 23 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25356460.html
Dan Glickman: A year of national service for young Americans could restore trust in government http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25050583.html#storylink=rss Dan Glickman, who represented Kansas in the U.S. House from 1977 to 1995 and was U.S. secretary of agriculture from 1995 to 2001 and is currently a senior fellow at the Bipartisan Policy Center, writes: Our nation needs to rededicate itself to the merit of service to re-engage the next generation.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 21 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article25050583.html
Michelle Obama: Military families deserve special thanks on Father’s Day http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24993601.html#storylink=rss On Friday, two days before Father’s Day, I visited U.S. Army Garrison Vicenza, our military installation in northern Italy that is home to thousands of American service members and their families.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 19 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24993601.html
Marian McCaa Thomas: Westport Presbyterian Church rebuilds old with new http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24653773.html#storylink=rss Marian McCaa Thomas, retired organist and choir director at Westport Presbyterian Church, writes: I prefer to celebrate the Westport Presbyterian Church’s history while looking forward to having up-to-date buildings from which to continue our ministry.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 16 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24653773.html
Mark H. Levin: In a case of new economic slavery, the state of Kansas is losing its soul http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article23600896.html#storylink=rss Rabbi Mark H. Levin of Congregation Beth Torah in Overland Park writes: “The slogan that ‘We do better deciding where to spend our own money’ is not only increasing poverty, causing people to die by ignoring their medical needs, destroying families and schools and costing more money than if we put available systems in place to solve all of these problems.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 09 Jun 2015 15:48:31 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article23600896.html
Scott McCandless: O, say, you should see our national parks http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article23236176.html#storylink=rss Scott McCandless, a partner at the law firm of Shook, Hardy & Bacon, writes: Our national parks have been described as “America’s Best Idea.” As the summer travel season heats up, go see if you agree.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 07 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article23236176.html
Nick Connery: There is no ‘War on Christianity’ by Muslims in the U.S. http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22936080.html#storylink=rss Nick Connery, 28, an Army veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom who serves in the Missouri Army National Guard, writes: In order to metaphorically “stick it” to Muslims, anti-Islam rallies are popping up all over the Southwest. But to understand what’s really going on, look at the amount of hate-crime violence that Muslims face in the United States every year compared to Christians.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 02 Jun 2015 15:28:15 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22936080.html
Robert Hill: Confronting a name at the Vietnam wall prompts gratitude and resolve http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22810278.html#storylink=rss The Rev. Robert Lee Hill, the pastor of Community Christian Church in Kansas City, writes: “As I walked away from the traveling wall, I offered a silent prayer, a prayer that was, as the war was, complicated, full of poignant thanks for those who so willingly served, anguished grief over the collective blundering that resulted in so many deaths, and resolve to help, as best I can, those who remain and those still coming home from further wars.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 01 Jun 2015 14:15:52 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22810278.html
Robert Willson: In a time of lazy language, I have a ‘problem’ with ‘issues’ http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22367481.html#storylink=rss Robert Willson, professor emeritus of English at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, writes: Somewhere along the usage highway, we took the wrong exit and started labeling any problem or question an “issue.” I suspect that the usage might have been born out of the age of psychobabble.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 26 May 2015 15:46:26 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article22367481.html
Sam Roche: Sen. Pat Roberts can save the Eisenhower Memorial project in Washington http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21738285.html#storylink=rss Sam Roche, who writes on architecture and urban planning and is the spokesman for Right by Ike: Project for a New Eisenhower Memorial, writes: The Eisenhower Memorial Commission has refused to reconsider the Frank Gehry design — a policy it should change under Sen. Pat Roberts’ new leadership and with input from Kansans. To get Ike’s memorial built, we need to redesign it.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 24 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21738285.html
Wendy Guillies: After KC superintendent’s departure, it’s time to seize the opportunity to succeed http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21401682.html#storylink=rss Wendy Guillies, the acting president and CEO of the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, writes: The emergence of broad support for a program like City Year is an indication that there is a desire to promote and invest in the school district when it is clear the status quo is unacceptable.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 19 May 2015 15:26:11 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article21401682.html
Dan Knight: Punishment for juveniles convicted of murder should fit the crime http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20770287.html#storylink=rss Dan Knight of Boone County, president of the Missouri Association of Prosecuting Attorneys, writes: We trust our juries and our judges to make the right decisions about guilt. We should trust them with a full range of punishment for society’s worst killers, even those who are under 18.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 12 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20770287.html
Kara M. Bollinger: The kids at Rosedale Ridge have been an inspiration http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20554095.html#storylink=rss Kara M. Bollinger, a writer and college instructor who lives in Kansas City, writes: I often don’t have the imagination to hope in my own life, especially when I can’t see a solution or control the outcome. But the kids at Rosedale Ridge give me hope. They make me believe in resiliency and restoration and potential. I want them to have a fair chance.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 10 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20554095.html
NeighborWorks helps seniors thrive in Kansas City http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20354331.html#storylink=rss John Santner, As I See It: In April, AARP released its new online rating tool that ranks nearly every neighborhood in the United States on its suitability for aging-in-place, using factors such as ease of getting around and public policies that promote aging, and Kansas City failed to make the cut.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 06 May 2015 12:50:34 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20354331.html
Rita Boller and Gene Kimmi: The Kansas death penalty is broken http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20295846.html#storylink=rss Rita Boller and her brother Gene Kimmi, whose mother, Patricia Kimmi, was murdered in northeast Kansas a little over five years ago, write: Ultimately, our family remained committed in our opposition to the death penalty. That is what Mom would have wanted. She instilled in us the core value that we should protect all life, from conception to natural death.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 05 May 2015 17:19:58 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20295846.html
Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach: I beg to differ on new voter fraud law http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24500476.html#storylink=rss Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach writes: "Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback recently signed a bill giving the secretary of state and the attorney general the authority to prosecute voter fraud. Combined with the photo-ID and proof-of- citizenship reforms enacted in 2011, Kansas now has the strongest protections in the country against voter fraud. As secretary of state, I initiated these reforms."

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 15 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article24500476.html
Bill Tuttle: 70 years ago, Japan’s other attack on U.S. http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20203071.html#storylink=rss Seventy years ago this week, on May 5, 1945, six Americans, five of them children between the ages of 11 and 14, were killed in the explosion of a Japanese bomb in the uplands of south-central Oregon.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 04 May 2015 15:13:09 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article20203071.html
Nathan Louis Jackson: A playwright observes the world and discovers how families collide and divide http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19829538.html#storylink=rss Nathan Louis Jackson, As I See It: As a playwright, it is a necessity that I closely observe the world around me. I then form an opinion based on what I’ve observed and express that opinion by recreating the world on stage. This often requires me to separate myself from the world around me, so I can take an objective look at it. Just like a scientist, I must sometimes resist the urge to interact with the subject being studied.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 28 Apr 2015 17:38:14 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19829538.html
Joan Blades: Seeking common ground on a better criminal justice system http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19408017.html#storylink=rss Joan Blades, co-founder of MoveOn.org, MomsRising.org and LivingRoomConversations.org, writes: Ever since I began having Living Room Conversations with conservatives, I’ve been learning just how aligned citizens from across the political spectrum are when it comes to our criminal justice system. We all want to live in safe communities.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 26 Apr 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19408017.html
Bob Berkebile and Joanne Collins: Benchmarking the energy use of Kansas City buildings makes sense http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19165446.html#storylink=rss Bob Berkebile, a principal of BNIM Architects and co-chair of Kansas City’s Environmental Management Commission, and Joanne Collins, a former City Council member and chair of the city’s Climate Protection Steering Committee, write: The Kansas City region has an opportunity to create local jobs, help protect our health and save money. How? By enacting a benchmarking ordinance that would measure energy usage of large buildings and report the findings.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 21 Apr 2015 15:45:31 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article19165446.html
Andrew Barnes: Don’t squander opportunity at Metcalf South http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article18525362.html#storylink=rss Andrew Barnes, who grew up in Overland Park and now practices architecture in Dallas, writes: Metcalf South is a site wrapped in history and nostalgia. But what is currently standing at 95th Street and Metcalf Avenue is a failed development rooted in planning and retail trends of the mid-1900s. To thrive, the “Central Square” plans must offer something more than what is currently proposed.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 14 Apr 2015 16:31:17 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article18525362.html
Naomi Beeman: Adjunct college teachers deserve a living wage http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article18213206.html#storylink=rss Naomi Beeman, who teaches at Park University and the Kansas City Art Institute, writes: Family and friends who know that I have spent much of my adult life earning a B.A. and Ph.D. from two top-ranked universities are surprised to learn that my youngest sibling — who holds a GED, works in retail in Topeka and changes jobs frequently — earns more per year than I do teaching a full load of college classes at multiple institutions in Kansas City.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 12 Apr 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article18213206.html
Tom Petrizzo: Missouri lawmakers have a double standard on the health of roads and people http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17743646.html#storylink=rss Tom Petrizzo, CEO of Tri-County Mental Health Services, writes: At a recent legislator forum in the Northland, the topic that consumed the most time and discussion was roads and a proposed increase in the gas tax. In the Missouri legislature, state tax revenue for roads is a greater priority than health care coverage for the poor citizens of Missouri.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 07 Apr 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17743646.html
Jean Peters Baker: Public safety threat involving Missouri firearms must be fixed http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17140508.html#storylink=rss Jean Peters Baker, the Jackson County prosecutor, writes: About this time last year, I joined law enforcement officials around the state to warn the Missouri General Assembly that it was about to approve language with potentially deadly consequences. The legislature didn’t listen then, and now it’s poised to make things worse.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 01 Apr 2015 17:08:22 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17140508.html
Mindy Corporon: How to heal and make a ripple by reaching out http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17036540.html#storylink=rss Mindy Corporon, whose father and son were killed outside the Jewish Community Center on April 13, 2014, writes: Can seven days of love and other focused activities really make a ripple to change the world? We think so. We must take a stand with the idea that it is better to “love your neighbor as yourself.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 31 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article17036540.html
Joelouis Mattox: We all must work together to overcome racism http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article16845521.html#storylink=rss March is National Woman’s History Month. Joelouis Mattox, a former member of the Missouri Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission On Civil Rights, dedicates this column to Lucile H. Bluford, who encountered state-sponsored racism in 1939 when she was denied admission to the University of Missouri School of Journalism.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 29 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article16845521.html
Andrew Johnson: No one wins in school talk failure http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article16213946.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Tue, 24 Mar 2015 17:52:57 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article16213946.html
Mayor Sly James: Do what it takes to keep the entrepreneurial spirit growing in Kansas City http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article15117338.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Tue, 17 Mar 2015 16:39:17 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article15117338.html
Matt Condon: The Startup Act is being held up in Congress, delaying job growth and economic development http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article14088962.html#storylink=rss Matt Condon of Fairway, champion of the Greater Kansas City Chamber’s Big 5 Entrepreneurship Initiative, writes: The Startup Act is about economic development. It would immediately initiate growth in new businesses and support our country’s incredibly important small business sector, which generates over a million new jobs each year, accounting for most of the nation’s annual job creation.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 13 Mar 2015 21:44:07 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/readers-opinion/as-i-see-it/article14088962.html