<![CDATA[Midwest Voices | The Kansas City Star & KansasCity.com]]> http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/ en-us Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:06:36 CDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:06:36 CDT Midwest Voices 60 Ike Uri: Refugee crises and racial upheaval speak to an empathy deficit http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article21726423.html#storylink=rss Although many countries continue to remove racial barriers and develop in regard to equality and opportunity, the modern world continues to display alarming prejudices.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 22 May 2015 17:38:22 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article21726423.html
Steve Johnson: Sinking of Lusitania led the U.S. to war http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article21119469.html#storylink=rss The Lusitania’s ghost would deliver 2 million Americans to the Western Front. The Lusitania sinking solidified America and Britain’s Special Relationship, as a symbiotic friendship emerged from the shared tragedy.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 15 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article21119469.html
Brooke Palmer: Lingering memories of bullying endure long after graduation http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article20545770.html#storylink=rss We must seek — and offer — healthier ways to process emotional pain and rejection, whether in our youth or adulthood, because inflicting pain is a virus. It stays with us even as we spread it around.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 08 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article20545770.html
Roger C. Williams Jr.: Testing pressure yields Atlanta http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article20045757.html#storylink=rss It could be instructive. Consider the Atlanta test-cheating scandal that Fulton County Superior Court Judge Jerry Baxter described as the “sickest thing that's ever happened in this town.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 01 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article20045757.html
James Byrne: Presidential powers have been long disputed in the U.S. http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article19421763.html#storylink=rss Our nation’s Founding Fathers can be blamed for the ongoing controversy regarding the limits of presidential powers.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 24 Apr 2015 17:22:55 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article19421763.html
Brian Noland: Low-wage workers seek the true value of their labor — higher pay http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article18791502.html#storylink=rss The movement for a $15-per-hour minimum wage is not about a handout for teenagers. According to The Washington Post, the average fast-food worker is 35 years old, a third of all fast-food workers are over 40 and only 12 percent are 20 years old or younger.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 17 Apr 2015 16:30:32 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article18791502.html
Rodger Bowman: Educators easily become hooked on kids, school and teaching http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article18204224.html#storylink=rss I’m addicted to teaching kids. Middle schoolers! Next month closes out 31 years of teaching and administrating in education. “When should I quit?” is the question that keeps coming up. I’m just not sure.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 10 Apr 2015 15:20:49 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article18204224.html
Diane Bigler: Emotional intelligence is more important than IQ http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article17335601.html#storylink=rss The actions of a young boy taking an injured dog to a veterinarian and having compassion for the animal demonstrate one of the core and essential principles of human nature: empathy. What leads a person such as this boy to possess such a strong sense of empathy?

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 03 Apr 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article17335601.html
Glennie E. Burks: Women’s voices benefit America http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article16521737.html#storylink=rss For the sake of the next generation of women, especially my granddaughters, men mustn't remain sidelined on any issue that gives the impression that women don't belong. When men give voice to these issues, young men — our sons listen.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 27 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article16521737.html
Liz Cook: Corporate world of confusion creates frankenwords http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article15514520.html#storylink=rss The goal of corporate communication, it often seems, is to strip words of their thorny, inconvenient connotations until we’re left with something innocuous but ugly.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 20 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article15514520.html
Ike Uri: It’s time to rethink the role of growth http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article14044130.html#storylink=rss It is time for us to reflect on our blind faith in growth, for the health of global society. Growth in gross domestic product began increasing exponentially in the United States after World War II, and the rest of the developed world followed.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 13 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article14044130.html
Stephen M. Johnson: One spark can ignite global war http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article12865529.html#storylink=rss A century ago, on a warm Sunday morning in Sarajevo, Bosnia, a young assassin played unwitting midwife to the birth of modern times and the 20th century.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 06 Mar 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article12865529.html
Brooke Palmer: Missed opportunities and regrets follow the right choice getting away http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article11386775.html#storylink=rss When we miss an opportunity, self-doubt and fear of failure are often to blame. But we also pass up opportunities because of our lack of belief in the opportunity itself.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 27 Feb 2015 18:27:32 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article11386775.html
Roger C. Williams Jr.: Lessons from Ferguson and New York: Police stops merit respect and dignity http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article10773362.html#storylink=rss Not long ago, I discovered a survey titled: “Do the police abuse their power?” Because past events in numerous cities across America have ignited protest demonstrations and fueled an expanding amount of discussion and debate about the conduct of police officers, the survey's content grabbed my attention.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 20 Feb 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article10773362.html
James Byrne: Politics today falls shy of angels http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article10086467.html#storylink=rss As long as we embrace a democratic form of government, we need to require our elected leaders to acknowledge (and in some cases accommodate) values and principles that may be in conflict with their own. This is more than just compromise or a means to reduce legislative gridlock. It is an expectation that political maturity and common sense exist in those we elect to represent us.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 13 Feb 2015 13:48:32 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article10086467.html
Brian Noland: In working toward justice, minorities are underrepresented among the nation’s lawyers http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article9467579.html#storylink=rss The legal profession has been labeled the least integrated in the U.S. by no less an authority than the American Bar Association. This is significant because outcomes in the administration of justice in the U.S. are still not colorblind, and evidence suggests that a more integrated legal profession would reduce such disparities.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 06 Feb 2015 18:45:56 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article9467579.html
Rodger Bowman: How I got the Greatest Generation’s guidance and now pass it on http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article8812373.html#storylink=rss Do you know the color of your father’s eyes? Blue? Brown? Green? My dad’s eyes were a mix of blue and gray. Always soft and always friendly. I’m the offspring of “The Greatest Generation.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 30 Jan 2015 17:19:19 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article8812373.html
Diane Bigler: Kansas City area should provide more mental health services http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article8020554.html#storylink=rss Karen Kelley has tried to kill herself several times, but she does not want to die. There was one way for her to get the mental health care that she desperately needed, even if it meant attempting suicide.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 23 Jan 2015 16:44:55 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article8020554.html
Glennie E. Burks: Police affected by shootings, protests after deaths of Michael Brown, Tamir Rice, Eric Garner http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article7017086.html#storylink=rss After months of reading articles on recent police shootings and community relations, none has caused me to contemplate the state of all the protests and outrage like one in The New York Times in which the author aims to provide readers with a myopic view of American history.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 16 Jan 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article7017086.html
Liz Cook: Protests over the slayings of black males expose a police image problem http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5720313.html#storylink=rss Tempers that first flared in Ferguson, Mo., last year have only grown, compounded by historically fraught relationships between police and minority communities and the recent deaths of Eric Garner and Tamir Rice at the hands of police officers.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 09 Jan 2015 16:50:12 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5720313.html
Meet The Star’s 2015 Midwest Voices columnists http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5726400.html#storylink=rss In 2014, we brought back a crop of alums, whose columns proved once again that they could reach out and touch the lives and political hot buttons of many of our readers. Today we introduce the class of 2015, an almost all-new lineup of Midwest Voices.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 09 Jan 2015 17:18:24 CST http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5726400.html
Hampton Stevens: For Kansas City, 2015 should be the year of back to basics http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5015367.html#storylink=rss The life of a city, like those who live in it, must have balance. The soul must be nourished, but so must the body. For a long time, people in Kansas City have focused on our collective soul.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 26 Dec 2014 15:44:37 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5015367.html
Carol Dark Ayres: For the true meaning of the holiday, don’t forget that Christ has always been a vital part of Christmas http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4692495.html#storylink=rss As we approach another Christmas season, the argument continues as to whether we should call this celebration a winter holiday or Christmas. Without a doubt the Christ, for whom Christmas is named, has had a larger effect on the world than any other man who ever lived.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 19 Dec 2014 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4692495.html
Dale Irwin: Low wages shortchange workers, placing the American dream out of reach http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4453169.html#storylink=rss I read the other day that Matthew Haller, with the International Franchise Association, thinks fast-food worker protests are a “blatant pretext” for organizing a workers association, commonly called a union.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 12 Dec 2014 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4453169.html
Melvina Johnson Young: ALS takes from the people we love, but some things they will never let ALS have http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4370418.html#storylink=rss It was the beginning of something horrific. That slippage signaled the end of one kind of life — a vigorous, healthy, active and moving one — and the beginning of another: A life with ALS.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 08 Dec 2014 15:51:22 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4370418.html
Melvina Johnson Young: America shows failure to value lives of black males http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4299220.html#storylink=rss Is there any greater fear for a parent than the thought of losing a child? Which of us has had a baby, smelled the sweetness of her head, lay silently listening to her breathing, and watched the miracle of her growing hasn’t had the dread that someone or something could come along and rip that most precious presence from our lives?

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 05 Dec 2014 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4299220.html
Are You A Columnist?Apply to join the Kansas City Star’s Midwest Voices panel for 2015 http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4274535.html#storylink=rss Apply to join the 2015 Midwest Voices panel. Send a short bio with your political outlook and home address, a sample 600-word column (attached in a Word document) and five future column ideas to oped@kcstar.com. Your deadline: Dec. 8. Up to 10 selected writers will be published five times next year. (No elected or appointed officials, please.)

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 04 Dec 2014 12:21:14 CST http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4274535.html
Zoltan Krompecher: Letters help define joy, love and life http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4187682.html#storylink=rss My son recently asked, “Dad, how do you fall in love?” I thought for a moment (noticing my wife looking up from her book) and explained I didn’t know exactly but believed it started with a smile or a laugh.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 28 Nov 2014 15:52:31 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4187682.html
Aimee Patton: Political difference creates an uncanny bond http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4053194.html#storylink=rss This is the story about two people and something that is almost unheard of these days. It’s the story about a politically opposite friendship — a conservative and a liberal who don’t agree on anything but still manage to have an amazing friendship.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 21 Nov 2014 16:36:57 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article4053194.html
Blake Hurst: Farmers grow in rock star status during the fall harvest http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article3937593.html#storylink=rss Farmers are never cool. But for a few weeks each fall, we are interesting. We are envied. We have charisma and sex appeal. We matter because we drive combines.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 14 Nov 2014 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article3937593.html