<![CDATA[Midwest Voices | The Kansas City Star & KansasCity.com]]> http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/ en-us Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:06:36 CDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:06:36 CDT Midwest Voices 60 Steve Johnson: Magna Carta helped shape U.S. laws http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article28619005.html#storylink=rss Magna Carta stands as a pillar of Britain’s unwritten constitution and our shared laws and culture. Magna Carta lies at the heart of our republic’s justice, equality, dignity, liberty, freedom, respect and other cherished values. Americans have discussed, fought and died for these values we all hold dear.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 24 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article28619005.html
Brooke Palmer: Why our ‘vintage’ concept of aging is all wrong http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article27520891.html#storylink=rss I don’t want to spend the majority of my life diminishing my worth with each passing year rather than nourishing my growth and awareness. Yet people everywhere are trying to prep me for the reality of what it means to become “vintage” in a society driven by anti-aging sentiment and the consumerism that goes along with it.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 17 Jul 2015 15:47:08 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article27520891.html
Roger C. Williams Jr.: Wipe out the hate behind black church fires http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article26992294.html#storylink=rss With the current increase in hate-inspired fires in predominantly black churches in Southern states, we can speculate that calls to remove the Confederate battle flag from capitol grounds in the South are instigating a racial backlash.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 10 Jul 2015 16:29:31 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article26992294.html
James Byrne: American exceptionalism seen on this Star-Spangled birthday http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article26143507.html#storylink=rss American exceptionalism does exist, and our history, our accomplishments, and our collective achievements set us apart from other nations, writes Midwest Voices columnist James Byrne, a former U.S. Army officer and semiretired telecommunications engineering manager.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 03 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT

pecial to The Star

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article26143507.html
Brian Noland: Minimum wage raise long overdue http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article25614649.html#storylink=rss In this age of unparalleled inequality, those who leverage poverty and joblessness, exploiting the market imperfection of low wages, expect a pound of flesh and far more than a drop of blood from their workers and our city.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 26 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article25614649.html
Rodger Bowman: We must do better in funding Alzheimer’s research http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article25011073.html#storylink=rss I needed time to think really, really hard about what I had just seen. Witnessed. And experienced. In the movie “Still Alice,” actress Julianne Moore portrays a middle-aged woman who is coming to grips with a terrible disease. Alzheimer’s.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 19 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article25011073.html
Diane Bigler: Vice President Joe Biden’s loss offers lessons in grief http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article23870161.html#storylink=rss Joe Biden is no stranger to loss. Having experienced the loss of his wife and young daughter in a car accident decades ago, he is confronted again with an experience that many of us find hard to imagine — the loss of a child.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 12 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article23870161.html
Glennie E. Burks: Adults help close the achievement gap http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article23223024.html#storylink=rss The greatest risk to poor and minority children over the summer is the persistent achievement gap that exists in our country. By most accounts, the gap spans the course of a child’s formal education and is ground that is never made up.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 05 Jun 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article23223024.html
Liz Cook: Hypocrites make bad messengers for morality and ‘values’ http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article22636224.html#storylink=rss Hypocrisy is an especially egregious form of intellectual dishonesty because it so often wounds others with its moral misdirection. We shake our heads at John Diehl and Joshua Duggar because they’ve failed to live up to the standards they would see imposed on others.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 29 May 2015 16:31:22 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article22636224.html
Ike Uri: Refugee crises and racial upheaval speak to an empathy deficit http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article21726423.html#storylink=rss Although many countries continue to remove racial barriers and develop in regard to equality and opportunity, the modern world continues to display alarming prejudices.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 22 May 2015 17:38:22 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article21726423.html
Steve Johnson: Sinking of Lusitania led the U.S. to war http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article21119469.html#storylink=rss The Lusitania’s ghost would deliver 2 million Americans to the Western Front. The Lusitania sinking solidified America and Britain’s Special Relationship, as a symbiotic friendship emerged from the shared tragedy.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 15 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article21119469.html
Brooke Palmer: Lingering memories of bullying endure long after graduation http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article20545770.html#storylink=rss We must seek — and offer — healthier ways to process emotional pain and rejection, whether in our youth or adulthood, because inflicting pain is a virus. It stays with us even as we spread it around.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 08 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article20545770.html
Roger C. Williams Jr.: Testing pressure yields Atlanta http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article20045757.html#storylink=rss It could be instructive. Consider the Atlanta test-cheating scandal that Fulton County Superior Court Judge Jerry Baxter described as the “sickest thing that's ever happened in this town.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 01 May 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article20045757.html
James Byrne: Presidential powers have been long disputed in the U.S. http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article19421763.html#storylink=rss Our nation’s Founding Fathers can be blamed for the ongoing controversy regarding the limits of presidential powers.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 24 Apr 2015 17:22:55 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article19421763.html
Brian Noland: Low-wage workers seek the true value of their labor — higher pay http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article18791502.html#storylink=rss The movement for a $15-per-hour minimum wage is not about a handout for teenagers. According to The Washington Post, the average fast-food worker is 35 years old, a third of all fast-food workers are over 40 and only 12 percent are 20 years old or younger.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 17 Apr 2015 16:30:32 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article18791502.html
Rodger Bowman: Educators easily become hooked on kids, school and teaching http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article18204224.html#storylink=rss I’m addicted to teaching kids. Middle schoolers! Next month closes out 31 years of teaching and administrating in education. “When should I quit?” is the question that keeps coming up. I’m just not sure.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 10 Apr 2015 15:20:49 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article18204224.html
Diane Bigler: Emotional intelligence is more important than IQ http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article17335601.html#storylink=rss The actions of a young boy taking an injured dog to a veterinarian and having compassion for the animal demonstrate one of the core and essential principles of human nature: empathy. What leads a person such as this boy to possess such a strong sense of empathy?

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 03 Apr 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article17335601.html
Glennie E. Burks: Women’s voices benefit America http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article16521737.html#storylink=rss For the sake of the next generation of women, especially my granddaughters, men mustn't remain sidelined on any issue that gives the impression that women don't belong. When men give voice to these issues, young men — our sons listen.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 27 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article16521737.html
Liz Cook: Corporate world of confusion creates frankenwords http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article15514520.html#storylink=rss The goal of corporate communication, it often seems, is to strip words of their thorny, inconvenient connotations until we’re left with something innocuous but ugly.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 20 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article15514520.html
Ike Uri: It’s time to rethink the role of growth http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article14044130.html#storylink=rss It is time for us to reflect on our blind faith in growth, for the health of global society. Growth in gross domestic product began increasing exponentially in the United States after World War II, and the rest of the developed world followed.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 13 Mar 2015 10:00:00 CDT

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article14044130.html
Stephen M. Johnson: One spark can ignite global war http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article12865529.html#storylink=rss A century ago, on a warm Sunday morning in Sarajevo, Bosnia, a young assassin played unwitting midwife to the birth of modern times and the 20th century.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 06 Mar 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article12865529.html
Brooke Palmer: Missed opportunities and regrets follow the right choice getting away http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article11386775.html#storylink=rss When we miss an opportunity, self-doubt and fear of failure are often to blame. But we also pass up opportunities because of our lack of belief in the opportunity itself.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 27 Feb 2015 18:27:32 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article11386775.html
Roger C. Williams Jr.: Lessons from Ferguson and New York: Police stops merit respect and dignity http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article10773362.html#storylink=rss Not long ago, I discovered a survey titled: “Do the police abuse their power?” Because past events in numerous cities across America have ignited protest demonstrations and fueled an expanding amount of discussion and debate about the conduct of police officers, the survey's content grabbed my attention.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 20 Feb 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article10773362.html
James Byrne: Politics today falls shy of angels http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article10086467.html#storylink=rss As long as we embrace a democratic form of government, we need to require our elected leaders to acknowledge (and in some cases accommodate) values and principles that may be in conflict with their own. This is more than just compromise or a means to reduce legislative gridlock. It is an expectation that political maturity and common sense exist in those we elect to represent us.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 13 Feb 2015 13:48:32 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article10086467.html
Brian Noland: In working toward justice, minorities are underrepresented among the nation’s lawyers http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article9467579.html#storylink=rss The legal profession has been labeled the least integrated in the U.S. by no less an authority than the American Bar Association. This is significant because outcomes in the administration of justice in the U.S. are still not colorblind, and evidence suggests that a more integrated legal profession would reduce such disparities.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 06 Feb 2015 18:45:56 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article9467579.html
Rodger Bowman: How I got the Greatest Generation’s guidance and now pass it on http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article8812373.html#storylink=rss Do you know the color of your father’s eyes? Blue? Brown? Green? My dad’s eyes were a mix of blue and gray. Always soft and always friendly. I’m the offspring of “The Greatest Generation.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 30 Jan 2015 17:19:19 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article8812373.html
Diane Bigler: Kansas City area should provide more mental health services http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article8020554.html#storylink=rss Karen Kelley has tried to kill herself several times, but she does not want to die. There was one way for her to get the mental health care that she desperately needed, even if it meant attempting suicide.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 23 Jan 2015 16:44:55 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article8020554.html
Glennie E. Burks: Police affected by shootings, protests after deaths of Michael Brown, Tamir Rice, Eric Garner http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article7017086.html#storylink=rss After months of reading articles on recent police shootings and community relations, none has caused me to contemplate the state of all the protests and outrage like one in The New York Times in which the author aims to provide readers with a myopic view of American history.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 16 Jan 2015 09:00:00 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article7017086.html
Liz Cook: Protests over the slayings of black males expose a police image problem http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5720313.html#storylink=rss Tempers that first flared in Ferguson, Mo., last year have only grown, compounded by historically fraught relationships between police and minority communities and the recent deaths of Eric Garner and Tamir Rice at the hands of police officers.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 09 Jan 2015 16:50:12 CST

]]>
http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5720313.html
Meet The Star’s 2015 Midwest Voices columnists http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5726400.html#storylink=rss In 2014, we brought back a crop of alums, whose columns proved once again that they could reach out and touch the lives and political hot buttons of many of our readers. Today we introduce the class of 2015, an almost all-new lineup of Midwest Voices.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 09 Jan 2015 17:18:24 CST http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/midwest-voices/article5726400.html