<![CDATA[Letters to the Editor | The Kansas City Star & KansasCity.com]]> http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/ en-us Tue, 17 Jun 2014 12:41:07 CDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Tue, 17 Jun 2014 12:41:07 CDT Letters to the Editor 60 Readers sound off on Johnson County’s budget, street paving, testing in schools http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29894845.html#storylink=rss Aug. 3, 2015: I was encouraged at last week’s public hearing for the proposed Johnson County budget, which includes a modest property tax increase to adequately fund essential county functions such as libraries and parks, which are essential to maintaining our quality of life.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 03 Aug 2015 17:27:55 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29894845.html
Letter of the Week: Budget cuts slash into diversity http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29702221.html#storylink=rss Claire Fuhlhage, 15, of Olathe, who enters her sophomore year at Olathe North High School in the fall, writes: I am saddened to see that the Spanish programs in Olathe’s elementary schools are being cut because of budget woes.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 02 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29702221.html
Readers react to discrimination, Cecil the lion and the U.S. math team http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29698498.html#storylink=rss Aug. 2, 2015: We live in a country that espouses liberty and equality that our forefathers fought for, and yet the majority of states, including Missouri and Kansas, discriminate on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 01 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29698498.html
Readers react to women in baseball, the Supreme Court’s same-sex marriage decision and water http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29701465.html#storylink=rss July 31, 2015: I hope that when the first female pitcher in major league baseball pitches, it won’t be to someone as old as her grandfather.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 31 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29701465.html
Readers react to women’s health, Obamacare and mental health in Kansas http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29590243.html#storylink=rss July 30, 2015: The 2016 funding proposal from a House appropriations subcommittee is set to ax Title X, the nation’s program for funding family planning.

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 30 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29590243.html
Readers react to driving while using a cellphone, college education and guns http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29473579.html#storylink=rss July 29, 2015: Driving while using a cellphone is worse than driving drunk and should be treated as such by law. Every day I see someone on the thumb machine crossing over into another lane close to me or another car.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 29 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29473579.html
Readers react to the Confederate flag, the transportation bill and Donald Trump http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29236138.html#storylink=rss July 28, 2015: The discussion over the Confederate flag has generated an attempt to claim that the Civil War was not fought over slavery but over states’ rights and economic issues. Anyone believing this should read the Confederate constitution.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 28 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29236138.html
Readers sound off on Obamacare, politics, TWA museum http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28902643.html#storylink=rss July 28, 2015: Republican candidates ran against Social Security and Medicare for many years. They deplored these “socialist programs,” and vowed to repeal them, if they were elected.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 27 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28902643.html
Letter of the Week: Tips when you’re on a trail http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28656994.html#storylink=rss contains illegal HTML markup:

Andrea DeHart of Olathe, an English language learner aide in the Olathe School District, writes: We have a wonderful trail system in Johnson County, and I’m sure the trails in the rest of the metropolitan area are equally enjoyable. I would like to offer a few reminders to those using the trails.

--> … Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 26 Jul 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28656994.html
Readers react to American history, Kansas City projects and Gov. Sam Brownback http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28657090.html#storylink=rss July 25, 2015: I hope people realize that slavery existed in the United States and the colonies for hundreds of years before there was a Confederacy. Are we going to ban the Stars and Stripes along with the Confederate flag?

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 25 Jul 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28657090.html
Readers react to Gov. Sam Brownback, the St. Francis Xavier controversy and the Confederate battle flag http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28659508.html#storylink=rss July 24, 2015: Gov. Sam Brownback’s campaign committee has a $300,000 debt, with $200,000 owed Brownback and $100,000 owed Lt. Gov. Jeff Colyer.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 24 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28659508.html
Readers react to climate change, Pope Francis and Donald Trump http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28458733.html#storylink=rss July 23, 2015: In his new encyclical letter, Pope Francis challenges all of us with one simple question: “What kind of world do you want to leave those who come after us?”

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 23 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28458733.html
Readers react to the water supply, Alexander Hamilton on the $10 bill and KCI http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28359460.html#storylink=rss July 22, 2015: Water is the new oil but is far more important since our very lives depend on it. Seventy percent of global fresh-water withdrawals are for agricultural purposes, and rural-urban conflicts over water are inevitable.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 22 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28359460.html
Crosby Kemper III and Mike Burke debate the convention hotel plan http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28059424.html#storylink=rss Crosby Kemper III, director of the Kansas City Public Library, says the plan will take away money from the library, public schools, community colleges and mental health entities. Mike Burke of Burke Swerdling & Associates, part of the hotel project team, says Kemper’s intent is to skew the discussion and tell only one side of the story.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 21 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28059424.html
Readers react to Democrats invoking religion, Kansas teachers and the Houston Astros’ stadium http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28059475.html#storylink=rss July 21, 2015: House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi recently scraped the bottom of the barrel for a Democratic Party liberal. She referred to God to help in the fight against global warming.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 21 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article28059475.html
Readers react to Republican voting, Colorado shooter, Lee Judge cartoons http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27964162.html#storylink=rss July 20, 2015: I am fine with rich people voting Republican, but when poor people, particularly single women, vote Republican, I want to scream

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 20 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27964162.html
Letter of the Week: This summer, please consider swimming pool safety http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27538876.html#storylink=rss Monica Duke of Kansas City, who is in the third year of her residency in pediatrics at Children’s Mercy Hospital, writes: In my short career, I have had the unfortunate opportunity to evaluate several children for near-drowning incidents. Their stories are similar, typically involving both a lack of child swimming skills and a lack of close supervision.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 19 Jul 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27538876.html
Readers react to campus violence, President Obama’s spending plans and the Koch brothers http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27538486.html#storylink=rss July 19, 2015: I applaud Blair Kerkhoff’s stand on college violence, specifically athletes hitting women. I would like to see the stand taken one step further, including males who get attacked by athletes.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 18 Jul 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27538486.html
Readers react to the Iran deal, preventing shootings and Kansas City improvements http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27537631.html#storylink=rss July 17, 2015: Regardless of how you interpret the contents of the Iran and world nuclear deal, the most harmful omission is the fate of the four U.S. citizens in Iran prisons. Why are they not part of the agreement?

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 17 Jul 2015 17:48:14 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27537631.html
Readers react to Hillary Clinton, Kansas and college sports http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27452920.html#storylink=rss July 16, 2015: As I went to get my paper this morning in the driveway, I was thinking I am sure that Hillary Clinton will be on the front page because she was in town yesterday for the La Raza convention. But I did not realize it would be such a big picture of her.

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 16 Jul 2015 18:52:09 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27452920.html
Readers react to the Missouri General Assembly, police chases and voting in Kansas http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27354400.html#storylink=rss July 15, 2015: The Christian men and women of the Missouri legislature are spreading the good news again as only they know how. Their gospel reminds me of the Spanish Inquisition.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 15 Jul 2015 18:14:33 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27354400.html
Readers react to the Confederate flag controvery, texting while driving and Hillary Clinton’s speech fees http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27250660.html#storylink=rss July 14, 2015: The flag has been removed from the South Carolina state capitol. In a rush to be politically correct, there are movements around the country to remove that flag everywhere.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 14 Jul 2015 17:13:41 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27250660.html
Letter of the Week: Honor Flight is a gratifying experience http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27012598.html#storylink=rss Chuck Hitchborn of Smithville, Mo., who joined the Marines in 1948 and later the reserves, writes: As a 23-year Marine Corps combat veteran, I found it especially meaningful to receive so many handshakes, hugs of gratitude and sincere thank yous from hundreds of adults and children.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 12 Jul 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27012598.html
Readers react to the Kansas sales tax, Lincoln Prep and trains http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27006241.html#storylink=rss July 11, 2015: If Kansas merchants see a decline and Topeka doesn’t receive the revenue state officials anticipate, maybe they will rectify the unfair tax situation.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 11 Jul 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27006241.html
Readers react to bicycle paths, payday lending and guns http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27006544.html#storylink=rss July 10, 2015: I applaud the efforts of Kansas City area governments to grow their bicycle path networks. I urge them to create, whenever possible, lanes or paths that are physically separated from motorized traffic.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 10 Jul 2015 18:14:36 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article27006544.html
Readers react to the Grain Belt Express, sexism in politics and government aid http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26905201.html#storylink=rss July 9, 2015: Bravo to the Missouri Public Service Commission for denying a plan for a 780-mile transmission line to carry wind-generated power from Kansas through Missouri to Eastern power grids.

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 09 Jul 2015 17:30:03 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26905201.html
Readers react to Missouri’s water, immigration and Gov. Sam Brownback http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26819833.html#storylink=rss July 8, 2015: Protecting the heartland’s streams and wetlands under the Clean Water Act, passed in 1972, helps our communities and is vital to our health, safety and quality of life.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 08 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26819833.html
Readers react to Gov. Sam Brownback, parking fines and fireworks violations http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26689549.html#storylink=rss July 7, 2015: Never before have so many been asked to give so much so that so few can have even more. Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback is the new sheriff of Nottingham.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 07 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26689549.html
Readers react to Kansas budget, minimum wage, Gov. Brownback http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26611111.html#storylink=rss July 6, 2015: The attitude of the Kansas governor and Legislature toward the budget mess this year, which they created in the first place, has seemed eerily familiar. But I just couldn’t put my finger on it.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 06 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26611111.html
Letter of the Week: Changes will enhance credit card security for consumers http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26181829.html#storylink=rss Rep. Sandy Crawford, a Republican from Buffalo, Mo., and the chairwoman of the Missouri House Banking Committee, writes: Missouri consumers and retailers should be aware of major changes that will occur this fall as credit and debit cards will be replaced in a national push for more secure transactions.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 05 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article26181829.html