<![CDATA[Letters to the Editor | The Kansas City Star & KansasCity.com]]> http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/ en-us Tue, 17 Jun 2014 12:41:07 CDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Tue, 17 Jun 2014 12:41:07 CDT Letters to the Editor 60 Readers react to Kansas Democrats, guns and Cecil the lion http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32658048.html#storylink=rss Aug. 30, 2015: I have been a registered Republican for more than 45 years. Lately, I have felt that the Kansas Republicans have left me outside the tent and I no longer embrace their platform.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 29 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32658048.html
Readers react to green energy, Missouri highways and Kansas Democrats http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32681109.html#storylink=rss Aug. 29, 2015: I do not have a dog in the fight between the farmers in Missouri and Clean Line Energy’s request to build the Grain Belt Express power lines. Believe it or not, the population of this country is expanding, and clean energy production is imperative to the health of this great nation.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 28 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32681109.html
Readers react to the Iran nuclear deal, Bob Sigman and Gov. Sam Brownback http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32564271.html#storylink=rss Aug. 28, 2015: For those opposing the Iran deal, they should think instead of just reacting against anything the Obama administration does. Does anyone really believe Iran would not pay very heavily if it sent a nuke at Israel?

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 27 Aug 2015 15:39:15 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32564271.html
Readers react to the air show, eating contests and legislative interns http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32482935.html#storylink=rss Aug. 26, 2015: I took my two young grandchildren (ages 5 and 8) to their first air show Saturday, and they never want to go to another one. I have attended at least 25 air shows, including several in Kansas City, and this was the worst.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 26 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32482935.html
Readers react to Missouri legislators, Hillary Clinton and cancer research http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32368743.html#storylink=rss Aug. 26, 2015: So some Missouri legislators, including Republican Rep. Nick King of Liberty, think the solution for keeping their libidos in check when dealing with female interns is to require “a good, modest, conservative dress code.” Perhaps the General Assembly should consult with members of the Taliban. Their dress codes are pretty modest and conservative, and they do a nifty job of keeping women in the Dark Ages.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 25 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32368743.html
Readers share thoughts on Bob Sigman, intern dress code, illegal immigration http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32249799.html#storylink=rss Aug. 25, 2015: The death of Robert “Bob” Sigman is a reminder of journalism at its best. As an editorial writer for The Kansas City Star for more than 40 years, Bob sparked improvements in the justice system beyond all measure.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 24 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article32249799.html
Letter of the Week: It’s correct to be politically correct http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31841802.html#storylink=rss Adam Finkelston of Roeland Park, an art teacher in the Shawnee Mission School District and publisher of The Hand Magazine, writes: From what I have seen, when people bemoan political correctness, it is only to defend some insensitive and disrespectful remark. So what they are really saying is that they don’t have time to be respectful to one another.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 23 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31841802.html
Readers react to Guantanamo detainees, the Iran agreement and the Central Exchange http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31823658.html#storylink=rss Aug. 23, 2015: Please don’t send Guantanamo detainees to Leavenworth. Kansas has been terrorized enough by the Brownback administration and the Legislature.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 22 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31823658.html
Readers react to Gov. Sam Brownback, the Royals and Donald Trump http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31780689.html#storylink=rss Aug. 21, 2015: When will Gov. Sam Brownback get it through his thick head that his pitiful so-called leadership is destroying our state of Kansas?

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 21 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31780689.html
Readers react to capital punishment, Missouri lawmakers and climate change http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31646663.html#storylink=rss Aug. 20, 2015: Want free room and board as well as free medical and dental care? Act crazy and kill people. Boy, are we easy on killers. No wonder there is so much killing going around.

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 20 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31646663.html
Readers react to smart TV, buying American and the presidential debates http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31567043.html#storylink=rss Aug. 20, 2015: My friend bought a smart TV, and I asked her whether the remote had a button to hide banners that crawl along the screen during programming, also known as weather bulletins, election results, school and church closings, Amber Alerts and more.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 19 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31567043.html
Readers react to mental health, gasoline prices and the Iran deal http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31476538.html#storylink=rss Aug. 18, 2015: Some 29 years ago, I was fortunate to spend several days touring Osawatomie State Hospital and then writing a five-part series of articles. It was an eye-opener, both for me and the readers of our suburban daily newspaper.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 18 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31476538.html
Readers share views on fresh water, electric cars, minimum wage http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31343483.html#storylink=rss Aug. 18, 2015: From my television, I see reservoirs dry in California one moment and other areas of the country inundated with water the next. Throughout history, wars have been fought over fresh water.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 17 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31343483.html
Letter of the Week: Have you thanked your bus driver today? http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31139474.html#storylink=rss Susan Cintron of Trimble, Mo., who works as an administrative assistant with a downtown Kansas City law firm, writes: Kudos to our Kansas City Area Transportation Authority bus drivers. As a passenger, I get to observe the amazing talent of our bus drivers, who gracefully maneuver through the obstacle course of cones and barriers resulting from the streetcar construction.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 16 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31139474.html
Readers react to Planned Parenthood, abandoned animals and Obamacare http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31134038.html#storylink=rss Aug. 16, 2015: Even though Planned Parenthood clinics in Kansas do not accept fetal tissue, Gov. Sam Brownback launched an investigation into Planned Parenthood. Brownback is staunchly opposed to abortion, so this is merely another effort to close down Planned Parenthood clinics in Kansas.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 15 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31134038.html
Readers react to Gov. Sam Brownback’s brother, the EPA and the Iran agreement http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31133714.html#storylink=rss Aug. 14, 2015: I find the allegations against Jim Brownback to be absolutely appalling. I can’t imagine living with someone like that as a neighbor. Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback isn’t responsible for his brother’s actions, but he should publicly renounce this behavior and do all he can to see that justice is served.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 14 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31133714.html
Readers react to the first day of school, The Bay Water Park and Ferguson http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31040724.html#storylink=rss Aug. 13, 2015: It is great to see the Chiefs’ cheerleaders welcoming middle school students to their first day of school. I suggest they reappear when the first-quarter honor roll is announced.

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 13 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article31040724.html
Readers react to the minimum wage, Kansas lawmakers and guns http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30936510.html#storylink=rss Aug. 13, 2015: It’s ridiculous that fast-food workers and others of that ilk think they should earn breadwinners’ salaries. These jobs require little training and are meant as stopgap positions or for high school kids.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 12 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30936510.html
Readers react to Bernie Sanders, health care and taxes http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30737940.html#storylink=rss Aug. 12, 2015: The Gilded Age (1870-1900) closely resembles our present era. Poverty was widespread, workers had little control over their lives and wealth was concentrated in the hands of a few who basically ran the nation by virtue of their financial influence.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 11 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30737940.html
Readers react to GOP debate, veterans’ care, guns http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30655983.html#storylink=rss Aug. 10, 2015: So Round 1 of the GOP Debate Across America is now in the books (8-7, A1, “Sparks but no flameout”). What did we learn?

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 10 Aug 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30655983.html
Letter of the Week: Keep the air clear in Kansas http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30440322.html#storylink=rss Jim Miksch of Prairie Village, a 15-year survivor of prostate cancer who is active in the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network and whose wife, Barbara, was diagnosed this year with bladder cancer, writes: Let’s continue saving lives by prohibiting smoking in all indoor public places.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 09 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30440322.html
Readers react to Donald Trump, help for disabled people and a downtown ballpark http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30444483.html#storylink=rss Aug. 8, 2015: After watching part of a recent interview with Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump, and being aware of the decisions/no-decisions on this nation’s issues, I have been forced to seriously consider voting for him.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 08 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30444483.html
Readers react to presidential candidates, drones for farmers and Kenny Chesney http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30437268.html#storylink=rss Aug. 7, 2015: With the ever-expanding list of Republicans vying for the presidential nomination, they will need some catchy slogans to get the voters’ attention.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 07 Aug 2015 16:34:03 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30437268.html
Readers react to same-sex marriage, race relations and the rich getting richer in Kansas http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30363294.html#storylink=rss Aug. 6, 2015: Maybe gay or lesbian couples who are married should call each other “spouse” so that a certain segment of society won’t have their evening shows disrupted by seeing a male “wife” or female “husband.”

Click to Continue »]]>
Thu, 06 Aug 2015 19:36:08 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30363294.html
Readers react to gun regulation, Gov. Sam Brownback and clean power http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30180777.html#storylink=rss Aug. 6, 2015: You don’t hear of mass killings with Thompson machine guns in this country. Why? Because those weapons are heavily regulated, regardless of gun advocates’ constitutional rights to own one.

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 05 Aug 2015 18:06:34 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article30180777.html
Readers react to Kansas gun laws, the firing of a teacher and the Confederate flag http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29985747.html#storylink=rss Aug. 4, 2015: For months now, The Kansas City Star and letter writers have forecast dire results for Kansas after it eased anti-Second Amendment laws, allowing concealed carry for all Kansas citizens without licensing or training.

Click to Continue »]]>
Tue, 04 Aug 2015 17:51:49 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29985747.html
Readers sound off on Johnson County’s budget, street paving, testing in schools http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29894845.html#storylink=rss Aug. 3, 2015: I was encouraged at last week’s public hearing for the proposed Johnson County budget, which includes a modest property tax increase to adequately fund essential county functions such as libraries and parks, which are essential to maintaining our quality of life.

Click to Continue »]]>
Mon, 03 Aug 2015 17:27:55 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29894845.html
Letter of the Week: Budget cuts slash into diversity http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29702221.html#storylink=rss Claire Fuhlhage, 15, of Olathe, who enters her sophomore year at Olathe North High School in the fall, writes: I am saddened to see that the Spanish programs in Olathe’s elementary schools are being cut because of budget woes.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 02 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29702221.html
Readers react to discrimination, Cecil the lion and the U.S. math team http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29698498.html#storylink=rss Aug. 2, 2015: We live in a country that espouses liberty and equality that our forefathers fought for, and yet the majority of states, including Missouri and Kansas, discriminate on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity.

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 01 Aug 2015 09:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29698498.html
Readers react to women in baseball, the Supreme Court’s same-sex marriage decision and water http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29701465.html#storylink=rss July 31, 2015: I hope that when the first female pitcher in major league baseball pitches, it won’t be to someone as old as her grandfather.

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 31 Jul 2015 10:00:00 CDT http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article29701465.html