There is not much legal incentive to wear a seat belt in Kansas.
Sure, police can pull you over and write you a ticket if you’re not wearing a belt. But at $10, the fine barely equals the cost of lunch.
It is the lowest fine for a seat belt violation in the country, according to the Governors Highway Safety Association.
Gov. Sam Brownback’s administration is backing a Senate bill that would increase the fine to $60, which would be higher than fines in at least half the states.
Never miss a local story.
The bill has the support of the Kansas Department of Transportation, the Highway Patrol and the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.
The bill is estimated to raise $1.2 million, of which about 5 percent would go toward promoting seat belt use for children.