The Buzz

The facts, faces and hum of local politics with Steve Kraske and Dave Helling

Roberts whips Wolf in Olathe straw poll

06/22/2014 4:20 PM

06/24/2014 4:51 PM

Some interesting straw poll results from key GOP primary races from this weekend’s Olathe Republican Party Picnic.

These numbers courtesy of chairman David Lightner. Keep in mind that conservatives dominate this group.

U.S. Senator:

174 Pat Roberts

74 Milton Wolf

(we were in such a hurry that I didn't even record D.J. Smith or Alvin Zahnter because they had so few)

Secretary of State:

189 Kris Kobach

21 Scott Morgan

Johnson County Commission Chair (non-partisan):

91 Ed Eilert

110 Patricia Lightner

4 Ed Peterson

County Commissioner, 1st District (non-partisan):

9 Alex DiCarlo

33 Laura McConwell

10 Mark Nauser

61 Rachel Sciolaro

39 Ron Shaffer

County Commissioner, 4th District (non-partisan):

135 Jason Osterhaus

25 Mayre Hoffman

14 Curt Skoog

State Senator, 37th District

129 Molly Baumgardner

72 Charlotte O'Hara


Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service