Eilert gets competition from Patricia Lightner, Ed Peterson for Joco chair

06/03/2014 11:04 AM

06/03/2014 2:23 PM

The races for the Johnson County Commission are now locked in after the filing deadline passed on Monday.

This year’s races are highlighted by a three-way contest for chairman of the Johnson County Commission.

Incumbent Chairman Ed Eilert, the former longtime mayor of Overland Park, is fending off a challenge from current County Commissioner Ed Peterson and former state legislator Patricia Lightner.

The top two vote-getters in the Aug. 5 primary will advance to the general election this November.

The race for the commission’s District 1 seat representing northeast Johnson County also figures to be hotly contested.

The race features two prominent Johnson County leaders, Prairie Village Mayor Ron Shaffer and former Mission Mayor Laura McConwell.

Also in the race are Alex DiCarlo of Prairie Village, Mark Nauser of Leawood and Rachel Sciolaro of Leawood. The winner will succeed Peterson.

All five will be on the Aug. 5 primary ballot with two moving onto the general election this fall.

Competition also is fierce in District 4, which covers a large section of Overland Park.

Incumbent Jason Osterhaus faces a primary challenge from Ward 2 Overland Park City Councilman Curt Skoog and Mayre Macey Hoffman, also of Overland Park.

In District 5, Commissioner Michael Ashcraft of Olathe is running unopposed.

To reach Brad Cooper call 816-234-7724 or send email to bcooper@kcstar.com


Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service