Joco Sports

June 14, 2013

Joco notes: All-Sunflower League and All-East Kansas League baseball squads announced

The All-Sunflower League and All-East Kansas League baseball squads have been announced, spotlighting the top players for the just completed spring season.

The All-Sunflower League and All-East Kansas League baseball squads have been announced, spotlighting the top players for the just completed spring season.

All-Sunflower League baseball

Player of the year: C Drew Green, Lawrence, junior; Coach of the year:

Mike Hill, Lawrence Free State


Catcher: Drew Green, Lawrence, junior; First base: Brett Nickle, Olathe South, senior; Second base: Kyle Stonestreet, SM West, senior; Third base: Miles Orscheln, Olathe South, senior; Shortstop: Shane Willoughby, Lawrence, senior; Nick Banman, SM West, junior; Outfielders: Michael Baillergeon, Leavenworth, senior; Taylor Davis, Olathe Northwest, senior; Matt Elliott, Olathe South, senior; Eli Keppler, Leavenworth, senior; Designated hitter: Matt Spellman, SM West, junior; Utility: Judson Cole, Leavenworth, senior; Pitchers:

Dane McCullough, Lawrence Free State, senior; Matt Slauter, Olathe North, senior; Brandon Bell, Lawrence, junior; Shane Hummel, Olathe Northwest, senior; Closer: Sam Hearnen, Lawrence Free State, senior.


Catcher: Gunnar Troutwine, SM East, junior; First base: Jacob Caldwell, Lawrence Free State, senior; Second base: Brett Andersen, Olathe East, senior; Third base: Cameron Pope, Lawrence Free State, junior; Shortstop: Anthony Miele, Lawrence Free State, senior; Outfielders: Jordan Evans, Olathe Northwest, senior; Joel Spain, Lawrence Free State, sophomore; Conner Taylor, Olathe Northwest, senior; Mitchell Tyler, SM East, junior; Zach Olson, SM West, senior; Designated hitter: Michael Steinbacher, SM East, senior; Utility: C.J. Stuever, Lawrence, senior; Pitchers: Judson Cole, Leavenworth, senior; Isaiah Campbell, Olathe South, sophomore; James Perdue, Olathe East, senior; Nate Westfahl, Olathe Northwest, senior; Closer:

Austin Christensen, Olathe North, senior.

All-East Kansas League baseball


Pitchers: Zach Engelken, BV West, junior; Derek Hurt, BV West, senior; Ryan Cyr, Blue Valley, sophomore; Mitch THorman, BV Southwest, senior; Catcher: T.J. Martin, BV Southwest, junior; Infielders: Ryan Ralston, BV West, junior; Jackson Fuller, BV Northwest, junior; Clay Custer, BV Northwest, junior; Mitch Rogers, Blue Valley, junior; Outfielders: Brandon Lee, Blue Valley, junior; Hunter Swanson, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Sam Davis, BV West, sophomore; Mike Baxter, Bishop Miege, senior; Scott Anderson, BV Southwest, senior; Utility: Sean Laughlin, BV Northwest, senior; Designated hitter:

Owen Sherlock, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior.


Pitchers: Wally Nellor, Gardner Edgerton, junior; Colin Frederick, BV Southwest, senior; Matt McHugh, BV North, senior; Trent Lunsford, BV Northwest, senior; Catcher: David White, Bishop Miege, senior; Infiielders: Alec Alvarez, BV Southwest, senior; Tyler Watson, St. Thomas Aquinas, junior; Nick Acurso, BV North, senior; Connor Kaiser, BV West, sophomore; Outfielders: Danny Kralicek, Blue Valley, senior; Sam Daily, BV West, senior; Ryan Weese, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Josh Rogers, BV North, junior; Utility: Jonathan Pasowicz, BV Northwest, senior; Designated hitter:

Jack Wilcox, Bishop Miege, senior.


Pitchers: Neal Pint, St. Thomas Aquinas, freshman; Evan Bourn, BV West, junior; Dylan Michaels, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Tucker Howard, BV North, senior; Jake Wimer, BV Northwest, senior; Brendan James, Blue Valley, senior; Catcher: Noach Croft, St. Thomas Aquinas, sophomore; Tanner Gragg, BV West, junior; Brady Childs, BV Southwest, senior; Michael Hayworth, Blue Valley, senior; Jake Harvey, BV North, senior; Chase Kilty, BV Northwest, junior; Infielders: Joel Edwards, St. Thomas Aquinas, junior; Evan Sherlock, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Garrett Smith, BV West, junior; Dan Reilly, BV West, junior; Daniel LaMunyon, Blue Valley, senior; Jacob Means, Gardner Edgerton, sophomore; Outfielders: Austin Moses, BV Northwest, senior; Jack Pauley, St. Thomas Aquinas, junior; Evan Bourn, BV West, junior; Designated hitter:

Nick Fiorito, BV Northwest, senior.

Baker earns academic All-America honor

Maryville senior Matt Baker, who won the wrestling program’s first NCAA Division II national championship at 197 pounds, added another honor last week.

Baker, a Shawnee Mission East graduate, was chosen as a 2013 Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-American.

He was selected to the men’s at-large team, which includes fencing, golf, gymnastics, ice hockey, lacrosse, rifle, skiing, swimming and diving, tennis, volleyball, water polo and wrestling.

Baker, a biology education major with a 3.53 grade-point average, went 40-1 and is a two-time All-American on the mat. He also won Maryville’s student-athlete of the year award and won the Great Lakes Valley Conference sportsmanship award.

Tyrell wins junior golf title

Blue Valley North golfer Jean Tyrell won the 54th Missouri Women’s Golf Association Junior Championship June 7 at Lake Valley Golf and Country Club in Camdenton, Mo.

Tyrell finished at 6-over par for her two rounds and edged St. Thomas Aquinas grad Jordan Chael by one stroke for the victory.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos