Joco Sports

June 7, 2013

Girls soccer: Sunflower League and East Kansas League all-conference teams

Olathe East High School junior Haley Hanson was announced Wednesday as the Gatorade Kansas Girls Soccer Player of the Year.

Olathe East High School junior Haley Hanson was announced Wednesday as the Gatorade Kansas Girls Soccer Player of the Year.

Hanson, who scored 13 goals with 16 assists this spring, is the first player in Hawks’ history to win the honor, which recognizes the top player in the state based on athletics excellence, along with academic excellence and character.

Hanson, a 5-foot-6 midfielder who has committed to Nebraska, helped Olathe East, 14-3-1, reach the Class 6A state quarterfinals.

She has maintained a 3.5 grade-point average and is active on student council.

All-Sunflower League girls soccer squad

Offensive MVP: Addison Steiner, SM East, senior; Defensive MVP: Sarah Spradling, SM East, senior; Coach of the year: Jamie Kelly, SM East; Referee of the year: Phil Theis


Forwards — Addison Steiner, SM East, senior; Sydney Miramontez, SM West, senior; Brooke Prondzinski, Olathe South, sophomore; Abby Rhodes, Olathe South, senior; Hannah Lukinac, Olathe East, junior; Mikala Modori, SM Northwest, junior. Midfielders — Haley Hanson, Olathe East, junior; Kelly Pdicoe, SM East, junior; Maddie Dieker, Lawrence Free State, junior; Morgan Mauck, SM West, sophomore; Paige Prondzinski, Olathe South, sophomore; Lauren Zach, Olathe East, senior. Defenders — Jessica Young, SM East, junior; Sarah Grace Nicholson, Olathe East, senior; Emily Michaels, Olathe Northwest, senior; Olivia Hodison, Lawrence Free State, junior; Jaide Allenbrand, Olathe South, junior; Sinclaire Miramontez, SM West, freshman. Goalkeeper

— Sarah Spradling, SM East, senior.


Forwards — Victoria Sabates, SM East, junior; Eden Opie, Olathe Northwest, junior; Emily Franchette, SM West, junior; Natalie Wolf, Olathe East, sophomore; Abby Moore, Olathe Northwest, junior; Courtney Hughes, SM North, senior. Midfielders — Taylor Christie, SM South, sophomore; Baylee Williams, Olathe Northwest, junior; Anna Colby, SM East, senior; Tori Devonshire, SM Northwest, junior; Alicia DeSanto, Olathe South, senior. Defenders — Jennifer Smith, SM Northwest, junior; Amanda Schwabauer, SM South, junior; Brooke Douglas, Olathe East, senior; Alex Hilliard, SM East, senior; Rachael Overmohle, SM West, senior. Goalkeeper

— Chloe Weishaar, SM Northwest, senior.


Lawrence — Alex Ewy, junior; Ella Magerl, senior; Addison Campbell, senior. Lawrence Free State — Chelsea Casady, senior; Rylee Fuerst, senior. Leavenworth — Lacie Thorton, senior; A.J. Hochard, senior; Alex Hill, senior. Olathe East — Carley Mitus, junior; Brooklyn Dobesh, junior. Olathe North — Amber Carpenter, senior; Sydney Kinstler, senior; Brooke Hogan, freshman. Olathe Northwest — Nina Parker, junior; Daryn Ireton, junior. Olathe South — McKenzi Petty, senior; Taylor Hughes, freshman. SM East — Quincy Hendricks, junior; Adalaide Kline, freshman. SM North — Tagen Lancaster, senior; Erin Wetschensky, senior. SM Northwest — Emily Peterson, junior; McKayla Ross, junior. SM South — Casey Lee, senior; Jordan Jones, junior. SM West

— Ali Smith, junior; Rachel Krueger, junior.

All-East Kansas League girls soccer squad

Offensive player of year: Jamie Kutey, St. Thomas Aquinas; Midfielder of year: Parker Roberts, BV North; Defender of year: Haley Sutter, BV Northwest; Co-goalkeepers of year: Ellen Loughman, St. Thomas Aquinas, and Natalie Pace, Blue Valley; Coach of year: Craig Ewing, St. Thomas Aquinas


Forwards — Rachel Catrell, BV West, junior; Jamie Kutey, St. Thomas Aquinas, sophomore; Nikki Lynch, BV Southwest, junior; Kara Priest, BV Northwest, junior; Hannah Pyle, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior. Midfielders — Mary Disidore, St. Thomas Aquinas, junior; Abbie Hair, Bishop Miege, sophomore; Emily Herndon, BV Northwest, senior; Cece Kizer, BV Northwest, sophomore; Parker Roberts, BV North, sophomore; Kelley Sweeney, St. Thomas Aquinas, junior; Alex Tress, BV North, sophomore; Brooke Zimmerman, Blue Valley, junior. Defenders — Emily Eldrigde, BV Southwest, senior; Abbey Fisher, BV West, senior; Taylor Gant, BV North, senior; Aubry Jeffries, Blue Valley, junior; Hailey McEntee, Blue Valley, junior; Natalie Owens, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Haley Sutter, BV Northwest, junior. Goalkeepers

— Ellen Loughman, St. Thomas Aquinas, junior; Natalie Pace, Blue Valley, junior.


Forwards — Kelsie Carpenter, Blue Valley, senior; Macy Dodd, BV North, sophomore; Mindy Farmer, BV North, senior; Savannah Hallier, Gardner Edgerton, sophomore; Rilynne Like, BV Southwest, freshman; Davina Shogbamimu, BV North, junior. Midfielders — Cierra Bryant, BV Northwest, sophomore; Reece Christopherson, BV West, sophomore; Sarah Hill, Blue Valley, senior; Olivia Meyeres, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Sydney Vaughn, Bishop Miege, senior; Taylor Wagner, BV Southwest, sophomore. Defenders — Ashlen Cyr, Blue Valley, senior; Linda Fiorito, BV Northwest, senior; Isabel Kurzban, BV West, sophomore; Hannah Kwapiszeski, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Cathy Rometti, Bishop Miege, senior; Molly Schmidt, St. Thomas Aquinas, sophomore; Kenzie Taylor, BV Northwest, sophomore; Brooke Thompson, Gardner Edgerton, senior. Goalkeepers — Shea Myer, Bishop Miege, junior.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos