Johnson County students earn College-sponsored National Merit Scholarships

05/29/2014 2:11 PM

06/03/2014 10:17 AM

College-sponsored National Merit Scholarships were announced this week.

Among the 2,500 recipients were these Johnson County students:

Barstow School: Iris Dew, Northwestern University

Blue Valley North: Abigail R. Miller, University of Cincinnati; Joseph L. Pickert, W. Harold Otto Scholarship

Blue Valley Northwest: Amanda E. House, W. Harold Otto Scholarship; Charles J. Welsh, University of Texas at Dallas

Blue Valley West: Benjamin R. Hodges, W. Harold Otto Scholarship; Brianna C. Jackson, W. Harold Otto Scholarship

Faith Christian Academy: Kathleen Klopfenstein, University of Minnesota

Homeschool: Kevin Michael McGuire, Oklahoma Christian University

Olathe North: Victoria G. Bergman, University of Oklahoma; Emmett A. Fitzgerald, University of Oklahoma

Olathe Northwest: Erik R. Flom, University of Oklahoma

Olathe South: Andrea K. Beene, University of Oklahoma; Tanner B. Delaney, W. Harold Otto Scholarship; Evan L. Eschliman, University of Chicago

Rockhurst High School: John R. Chazhoor, W. Harold Otto Scholarship; Dante Carlo Pennipede, Vanderbilt University

Shawnee Mission East: Henry J. Recker, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Robert L. Simpson, University of Missouri-Kansas City

Shawnee Mission Northwest: Benjamin Huddleston, University of Oklahoma

Shawnee Mission South: Virginia L. Friedrich, University of Arizona; Melanie S. Powell, Univerity of Nebraska-Lincoln

St. James Academy: Kathryn E. Colanero, Baylor University

St. Thomas Aquinas: Mitchell J. Gampper, Oklahoma State University

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service