National Merit Scholars named, and other school notes

07/13/2014 8:39 PM

07/14/2014 12:20 PM

National Merit Scholarships

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has released the names of more students who earned National Merit scholarships that are sponsored by colleges and universities. Other National Merit scholars were announced earlier.

Park Hill South High School: Stephen A. Komar, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, probable career field: military service; Adam N. Marrs, University of Oklahoma, probable career field: astrophysics.

Liberty High School: Haley C. Ferguson, Pomona College, probable career field: psychology.

Platte County R-3 High School

Innovation Institute: Thirteen students were selected for a new summer school program that encourages students to discover and initiate projects based on their interests.

Institute participants were chosen based on applications, interviews and an outline of their project. They were Ashley Burns, Haley Firkins, Abby Goodman, Malainey Kay, Madison McBratney, Katherine McCormack, Armand Perez, Jace Pine, Dillon Portenier, Spencer Ruwe, Mikayla Tessmer, Chris Watson and Aleksandr Young.

Individual students and their projects were Malainey Kay, making plans for a high school environmental club; Katherine McCormack, developing a plan to build an orchestral program in the school district; Armand Perez, designing a solar still to produce fresh drinking water from saline sources; Jace Pine, building a website for his “Hats Off Detailing” business; Dillon Portenier, exploring the use of nanotechnology to cure diabetes; and Aleksandr Young, creating an alternate history website to publish fictional literature that alters events of the past.

Groups and their projects were Haley Firkins and Abby Goodman, developing a marketing plan to install water bottle filling stations in district schools; Ashley Burns, Spencer Ruwe and Mikayla Tessmer, planning school events for Interact Club; and Madison McBratney and Chris Watson, studying the declining bee population and colony collapse disorder.

North Kansas City School District

Staley scientists: Chloe Clement and Brooke VanSickle were named state champions for winning first place in Forensic Science at the Missouri Science Olympiad tournament.

The Staley High School Science Olympiad Team earned fourth place at the tournament by placing in 13 events in competition against more than 200 Missouri high school teams.

Chemathon champion: Dustin Gier, a junior at Oak Park High School, won first in the Physics Division of the Missouri Western State University Chemathon competition.

Oak Park also placed first as a physics team in the division.

| Compiled by Su Bacon

Please e-mail your school news to, fax it to 816-453-7823 or mail it to Northland Neighborhood News, The Kansas City Star, 1729 Grand Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64108.

No e-mail attachments, please. Include a telephone number for verification. Items must be received at least two weeks before publication.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service