816 North

April 8, 2014

Park Hill artists advance to national contest, and other school notes

Northland school notes
Park Hill School District

Reflections winners:

Entries submitted by students who won first place at the state level now advance to the National PTA Reflections contest.

The first-place winners are Madelyn Morrow, a first-grader at Union Chapel Elementary, and Grant Pace, a sophomore at Park Hill South High School, in the visual arts category.

The theme for this year was “Believe, Dream, Inspire.” Students competed in six areas: visual arts, photography, literature, musical composition, dance choreography and video production.

Kansas State University

High school seniors recognized:

Taylor Cofield of Park Hill High School was named a finalist in consideration for an Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship.

From 93 applications, the selection committee chose Cofield and 10 other finalists to interview for scholarships based on outstanding contributions to their communities.

Park University

Resident assistants, mentors chosen:

Student leaders have been selected for the 2014-15 academic year on the campus in Parkville.

Northland resident assistants will be Tiffany Goodier of Smithville, Ray Kincaid of Gladstone, Anna Menninger of Platte City, Doreen Nakagiri of Parkville and Arthur Vollbrecht of Kansas City, North. Resident assistants are the primary contact for their residential community and facilitate campus involvement.

Erin Hector from Kansas City, North, was selected for the staff of the First-Year Experience Program. First-year experience mentors are assigned to first-year course sections to connect in-class learning with outside-the-classroom experiences. They also serve as role models by demonstrating appropriate academic and personal behavior.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos