816 North

March 11, 2014

Students qualify for state career conference, and other school notes

Northland school notes
Park Hill School District

District winners:

High school students qualified for the state DECA Career Development Conference this month by placing first, second or third in district competition.

Students from 16 high schools in northwest Missouri participated.

Advancing to state from Park Hill High School are seniors Shane Belew, Regina Bolin, Taylor Cofield, Giuseppe Cedillo, John Erneste, Brooke Hall, Drew Hendrix, Jill Kallenberger, Jacob Lee, Angela Morelli, Wisdom Nwike, Abby Peoples, Kim Rau, Mandey Reid, James Schold, Cooper Stanturf, Trevor Stark, Rylee Stoulil, Mackenzie Thomas and Anthony Wussow.

Park Hill juniors are Colston DiBlasi, Saylor Grau, Madison Pehlman and Angie Willemsen.

Park Hill South High School students are seniors Isaac Brizendine and Ryan Dansby and junior Michael Regan.

Oak Park High School

Educator excels:

Christina Geabhart has earned national Master Journalism Education certification.

Geabhart has held national certification through the Journalism Education Association since 2005. For the master certification, she had to demonstrate experience and commitment to broadcast and print journalism instruction, be recommended by a principal or supervisor and complete a master-level project.

Liberty North High School

Winning orators:

The speech and debate squad won first in overall sweepstakes at a tournament in Springfield.

Liberty North students competed against 36 schools from across the state in the Bob Bilyeu Winter Classic at Parkview/Central High School.

First-place winners in policy debate were co-champion teams of Jessica Pittman and Melissa Pittman and of Derek Rogers and Kendall Stockard; in novice humorous interpretation, Summer Blankenship; in novice dramatic interpretation, Caitlyn Fuller; and in novice public forum, Mac Newton and Mattie Seley.

Placing second were Emma Allman in humorous interpretation, Caitlyn Fuller in novice humorous interpretation and Emma Allman and Lauren VanNess in duo interpretation.

Third-place winners were Quinn Mars and Raj Patel in public forum debate, Raj Patel in foreign extemporaneous and Lauren VanNess in humorous interpretation.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos