New National Technical Honor Society members, and other school notes

03/04/2014 12:00 AM

03/02/2014 10:25 PM

Northland Career Center

Academic achievers:

Students qualified for membership in the National Technical Honor Society.

From Liberty North High School the students are Caitlin Cameron-Logan and Mariah Magee; from Liberty High School, Courtney Johnson; from Park Hill High School, Vanessa Jenkins, Abigail Morris and Mari Rivas; from Park Hill South High School, Lukas Smith; from Platte County R-3 High School, Maren Mair, Rachel Rhinehart, Martin Roper, Morgan Schomburg and Faith Schmidt.

From North Platte High School, Maria Dewey; from North Kansas City High School, Canada Slater; from Staley High School, Bridget Crabtree, Shelby Frans and Cierra Hoskins; and from Winnetonka, Isaac Ray and Tyler Zimmerman.

To be chosen, students must hold a grade-point average of at least 3.0 at their high school and a 3.5 grade-point average and an attendance rate of 95 percent or better at the career center.

St. Pius X High School

Play opens:

Cast members have been chosen for “The Curious Savage,” a school production opening at 7 p.m. on Thursday.

Appearing in the show are Sean Bryant, Mary Burns, Joey DeFabio, Shelby Hennen, Sarah Koster, Lydia Masnado, Ben Prothman, Annie Roe, Ben Schmidt, Rachel Thomas and Manny Victoria.

The comedy runs through Saturday in the Fine Arts Facility at the school, 1500 N.E. 42nd Terrace in Kansas City, North.

Tickets can be purchased at the door for $5 for students and $8 for adults.

Liberty High School

Musician wins:

Meranda Dooley, a senior, won the Young Artist solo competition for the Northland Symphony Orchestra.

She will perform on the clarinet with the orchestra on April 27.

Park Hill High School

Regional winners:

Four students will advance to the Family, Career and Community Leaders of America state leadership conference in March.

They qualified by winning gold medals at the regional conference. Winners were Taylor Cofield, a senior, in the advocacy category; Kaylin Lake, a senior, in focus on children; and Derrick Kauffman and MacKenzie Thomas, seniors, in life event planning.

Winning silver medals were Blake Nave, a senior, in recycling and redesign, and Daniela Lopez Romero, a sophomore, in life event planning.


Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service