Park University Harvest King is North Kansas City grad, and more school notes

09/30/2013 8:31 AM

09/30/2013 8:31 AM

Park University

Northland student reigns:

Arthur Vollbrecht, a graduate of North Kansas City High School, was crowned king of Harvest Fest earlier this month on the campus in Parkville.

Vollbrecht is a senior majoring in biology and a member of the university’s cross country team.

Candidates for the Harvest Fest court were nominated by their peers and required to submit an essay about integrity, respect, inclusivity and other attributes of a model Park student and global citizen. They were then chosen by a committee of faculty, staff and students.

The Harvest Fest queen is Kirby Appollis, a junior from Overland Park.

Northland Career Center

Student leaders:

Members of SkillsUSA elected officers at the career and technical school in Platte City.

The morning officers are president Kaitlyn Stuckey of Platte County R-3 High School, vice-president John Mancuso of Park Hill High School, secretary Lizzie Absher of Oak Park, treasurer Austin Nalder of Platte County R-3, historian Kacey Shields of Park Hill, chaplain Shelby Frans of Staley, reporter Morgan Schomburg of Platte County R-3 and parliamentarian Jake Sweetwood of Park Hill.

The afternoon officers are president Leinaala Pitzenberger of Platte County R-3, vice-president Isaac Ray of Winnetonka, secretary Jeni Rule of Smithville, treasurer Kiele Connor of Park Hill South, chaplain Jacob Lindburg of Park Hill South, reporter Chris Connor of Park Hill South and parliamentarian Lincoln Cook of Smithville.

On Oct. 14, the school will host the SkillsUSA District Leadership conference for students from other area career centers. The conference will cover leadership and teamwork activities.

Liberty Middle School

Curtain rises:

Student thespians will present “30 Reasons Not to Be in a Play” on Friday and Saturday.

The shows are at 7 p.m. in the Liberty Performing Arts Theater at 1600 S. Withers Road. Tickets are $5 at the door.

Stage fright and kisses are some of the dangers of drama that the comedy touches on.

Chosen for the play are Paige Baldwin, Izzie Bates, Isabelle Borchardt, Makana Brooks, Weston Brown, Fiona Burroughs, Mackenzie Butts, Scott Cook, Jeremy Crooks, Alexa Danahy, Jonathan Edens, Sara Engert-Wexler, Shelby Erickson, Nathan Frost, Michael Garcia, Beth Garrison, Briggs Hall, Andee Hall-Price, Raeli Howerton, Jacob Jimenez, Dylan Johnson, Brayden King, Kit Mallet, Peter Mallet, Carly Mantia, Katie Martin, Kendall McMullen, Allie Midkiff, Zoe Moody, Dylan Moran, Katie Morris, Chrystian Noble, Sarah Noble, Hannah Odom, Brent O’Leary, Summer Olson, Shawn Palmer, Hope Peck, Malissa Pennington, Aubrey Peterson, Sarah Roebbeke, Gabby Ryal, Heather Shipley, Mariah Shipley, Peyton Steenstra, Alyssa Stein, Jane Sundell, Delaney Tarpley, Katherine Vlamis and Caroline Wright.


Join the discussion

is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service