National Merit semifinalists

09/16/2013 12:00 AM

09/11/2013 11:18 PM

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of about 16,000 semifinalists in its scholarship program for 2014.

The semifinalists are eligible to continue in the competition for roughly 8,000 National Merit Scholarships worth about $35 million, which will be offered next spring.

The students represent fewer than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors. They were the top scorers in each state on a qualifying test taken as juniors. About 1.5 million students took the test nationwide.

These seniors from Missouri-side high schools are this year’s semifinalists:

• Barstow:

Iris Dew, Thomas S. Dunn, Camille F. O’Leary.

• Blue Springs South:

Bailey E. Barnett, Trevor A. Bishop, Miranda Cooper, Connor M. Dillon, Ross M. Dryer, Abigail J. Kucera, Brendan M. Smith.

• Faith Christian Academy:

Kathleen A. Klopfenstein.

• Grain Valley:

Katricia F. Herring.

• Grandview homeschool:

Tyler A. Bowdish.


Independence homeschool:

James B. Tandy.

• Kearney:

Joseph A. Barrett.

• Lee’s Summit homeschool:

Joanna G. Gossell.

• Lee’s Summit:

Kyle J. Angle, Andrew N. Jarnevic.

• Lee’s Summit North:

Sam P. Dowd, Heidi E. Simpson, Evan J. Weidner.

• Lee’s Summit West:

Anna J. Poudel.

• Liberty:

Haley E. Brown, Brigid E. Burroughs, Haley C. Ferguson, Paul T. Spring.

• North Kansas City:

Richard W. McCormick, Tabris Thomas.

• Notre Dame de Sion:

Jennifer E. Bolton, Cory J. Cole, Emma S. Dopheide, Mary-Kathryn Eilert, Nicole R. McMindes.

• Park Hill South:

Sarah A. Hardin, Stephen A. Komar, Emerson E. Lee, Adam N. Marrs, Joseph A. Philpot.

• Pembroke Hill:

Jonathan D. Chu, Zachary C. Cobb, Grant W. Forsee, Daniel A. Han, Ryan M. Hrinya, Riya Mehta, Shea A. Radel, Tyler P. Spinks, Adam C. Starr, James S. Stites, Peter J. Taggart, Edward Thum, Johnson Underwood.

• Platte County:

Kacie L. Saxer-Taulbee.

• Raymore-Peculiar:

Elizabeth V. Daugherty, Christopher A. Leonard, Laura M. Wiseman.



Aidan A. Alemifar, John D. Benninghoff, Charles C. Burgess, John R. Chazhoor, Joseph C. Cochran, John D. Coode, John A. Franken, Jack X. Livers, Jeremy D. Love-Epp, Austin T. Meyer, Patrick Michaelis, Jacob Moore, Samuel A. Moore, Alex C. Mueller, Dante Pennipede, Evan A. Schleicher, Benjamin D. Seitzer, Aaron B. Snodell, Alexander R. Stubblefield.

• St. Teresa’s:

Abigail L. Haines, Shelby L. Hawkins, Katherine C. Parkinson.

• Smithville:

Clayton Del Pico.

• Summit Christian Academy:

Samuel Holland.

• Whitefield Academy:

Christopher B. Estep.

• Winnetonka:

Hannah C. Lounsbery.

• Warrensburg: Abdala Yousef.


Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service