816 North

June 11, 2013

Northland school notes

School notes for June 12
Liberty School District

Chemists compete:

Five students were honored by the Kansas City chapter of the American Chemical Society.

Recognized for their scores on the national chemistry exam were Chris Vlamis and William Xiao from Liberty High School and John Barry and Lizzy Soper from Liberty North High School. They will advance to a second round of chemistry competition. More than 80 students from the Kansas City area took the exam.

Renna Yi of Liberty High school won the high school student of the year award for outstanding performance in chemistry.

Park University

Summer internships:

Ten-week internships have been awarded to students interested in public affairs.

Northland interns are Kasey Anderson, a graduate of Park Hill South High School; Michael Baharaeen, a graduate of Winnetonka High School; and Rosemary Loehr, a graduate of St. Pius High School.

The internships are a partnership between the university’s school of public affairs and Coro Kansas City, a nonprofit leadership development organization.

Coro interns experience five different areas of employment: government, nonprofit, business, labor and media.

Platte County R-3 High School

Graduates honored:

Students scoring at least a 31 on the ACT test were recognized at the Senior Awards ceremony.

They were Kaitlyn Burress, Jacob Cogdill, Logan Freeman, Alejandro Gallegos, Daniel Goering, Haley Johnson, Devin Kaveler, Sarah Regan, Corbin Smith, Brandon Spoor, Alexander Watson and Joseph Whistman.

A perfect score on the ACT test is 36.

Liberty Kiwanis Club

Scholarships awarded:

Four students from the Liberty School District were selected for awards.

Erin Cooper from Liberty High School was named the winner of a Kiwanis district award of $1,000.

Receiving $500 scholarships were Jaime Fuenfhausen and Elizabeth Gunnar from Liberty High School and Kaitlyn Wallace of Liberty North High School.

Park Hill School District

Academic achievers:

Four seniors were named to the 2013 Missouri Scholars 100 program.

From Park Hill High School, the students are Daniel Chen and Caroline Tran and from Park Hill South, Joshua Hunt and Thomas Smith.

The program honors the top 100 students in the graduating class of 2013 throughout the state.

Liberty School District

Students honored:

Broadcast journalism students were named to the National Scholastic Press Association Honor Roll.

Honorees from Liberty North High School are Grace Brown, Katelyn Brown, Anna Carter, Payton Reid, Shelby Grego, Alex Tegeler, Audrey Wood and Hattie Zelenak.

Named to the honor roll from Liberty High School were Kyle Dingus, Tim Hannah, Lauren Holm, Madison Jones, Hannah Knapp, Isaac Knopf, Madelyn Lorei, Alex McLoon, Alex Neely, Kaitlynn Norton, Cassidy Paul, Lauren Pope, Tana Sue Pottorf, Lexi Rich, Macy Rich, Brianna Schweitzer, Ashley Sharp, Jacob Shipley and Haley Tanner.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos