Community notes for April 10

04/09/2013 12:00 AM

05/20/2014 10:42 AM

North Kansas City School District

Middle school winners:

Antioch and New Mark students qualified for National History Day competition at the state level.

They are Harper Ross from Antioch Middle School, who placed second in regional competition, and Renee Hill and Emily Musembi from New Mark Middle School, who both placed third. Harper and Renee won in the junior individual documentary category and Emily in junior individual exhibit. They will compete April 20 in Columbia, Mo.

Some 470 students from the Kansas City area participated in the regional history day contest.

Park Hill South High School

Perfect scores:

Two juniors earned the highest possible scores on their college entrance exams. Emerson Lee scored a perfect 2400 on the SAT and Joe Philpot, a 36 on the ACT.

More than 1.66 million students nationwide took the ACT and 781 earned a perfect composite score. Every year, about one million students take the SAT and an average of 20 earn a 2400.

Park Hill South High School

Educator excels:

Meagan Hughes has been named the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association’s Journalism Teacher of the Year.

Hughes was nominated by her students. She will be recognized today on State Journalism Day in Columbia.

Later in the year, she will represent Missouri in the Journalism Education Association’s national competition.

Liberty Junior High School

Cast selected:

Students have been chosen for leading roles in “Anne of Green Gables.”

The show will feature Kailyn Peterson as Anne Shirley. Cecelia Cook and Roman Accardi were chosen as Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert. Abby Day will play Diana Barry and Ethan Julian will appear as Gilbert Blythe.

“Anne of Green Gables” will be performed at 7 p.m. on April 19 and 20 at the school, 600 W. Kansas St. Tickets are $5.

North Kansas City School District

Student mathematicians:

Fifteen students qualified for state math competition after placing first, second or third in math concepts or math problem solving at a regional contest.

From Antioch Middle School, the winners were Viet Nguyen, Brian Purkaple and Zach Ropka; and from Maple Park Middle School, John Murray and An Vu.

Grade-school winners were Katie Davis, Ben Poole and Titus Weikal from Briarcliff Elementary School; Grant Galatas and Brian Truong from Crestview; Aaron Marks from Gracemor; Michael Foster from Linden West; and Eli Bartz, Joran Brensdal and Joseph Shaver from Meadowbrook.

The state contest, sponsored by the Missouri Council of Teachers of Mathematics, will be held April 27 at the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service