Wichita State’s Gregg Marshall earns another award

04/07/2014 10:01 AM

04/07/2014 1:53 PM

Wichita State basketball coach Gregg Marshall added another honor to his history-making season on Sunday when the Atlanta Tipoff Club named him the Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year.

Marshall coached the Shockers to a 35-1 record and a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. WSU became the first team to win 35 games before losing.

Finalists for the award included Michigan’s John Beilein, SMU’s Larry Brown, Florida’s Billy Donovan and Tony Bennett of Virginia.

Marshall also won Coach of the Year honors from the Associated Press, the National Association of Basketball Coaches, the United States Basketball Writers Association and CBSSports.com.


Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service