Election news | How some April elections stack up

02/04/2014 12:00 AM

02/03/2014 11:41 PM

City council incumbents unopposed in Blue Springs

When filing closed for city elections in Blue Springs, no opposition had surfaced for the three City Council incumbents up for election on April 8.

They are Jeff Quibell in District 1, Kent Edmondson in District 2 and Ron Fowler in District 3.

No opponent for Lee’s Summit mayor

Lee’s Summit Mayor Randy Rhoads will be unopposed in the April 8 election, but some City Council seats will be contested. The council candidates:

District 1: Robert Dye and Diane Forte.

District 2: Craig Faith, Timothy Denker and Trish Carlyle.

District 3: Joseph Spallo and Diane Seif.

District 4: Dave Mosby.

Mosby is the only incumbent. Kathy Hofmann, Brian Whitley and Ed Cockrell did not seek re-election.

Independence has two contested elections

In Independence, where Mayor Don Reimal is retiring, two candidates are vying to succeed him. They are James (Jim) Schultz and Eileen N. Weir.

Only two people filed for the two at-large City Council seats. They are Christopher R. Whiting and Karen M. DeLuccie.

In a special election for the Third District, the candidates are Roxann Thorley and Scott A. Roberson.

School board incumbents unopposed in Raytown, Blue Springs and Grandview

Voters in the Raytown, Blue Springs and Grandview school districts won’t see a school board election on the April 8 ballot.

School districts aren’t required to have elections when the number of candidates matches the number of open seats, as was the case in all three districts.

Three incumbents — Rick Moore, Terry E. Landers and Jerome Barnes — are running unopposed for three at-large seats in Raytown.

In Blue Springs, Kay Coen, Dale Falck and Dale Walkup are each guaranteed another term.

And five incumbents filed for the five open seats in Grandview. Jon Brax, Barbara Polette and Wayne Terpstra are filling three-year terms. Ron Haley will fill a two-year term and Paul Alexander a one-year term.

School boards have contested races in Lee’s Summit and Independence

On April 8, voters will be choosing school board candidates in Independence and Lee’s Summit.

Three people have filed for two open seats in Independence.

The candidates are incumbent Denise Fears, former school board member Blake Roberson, and Ron Thornbury, who is seeking his first term.

Jana Waits is retiring from the Independence board after serving 12 years.

In Lee’s Summit, four candidates are vying for three open seats. They are incumbents Chris Storms and Terri Harmon, along with Bill Baird and Mark Ousnamer.

Craig Scott filed before the deadline, but withdrew. Incumbent Jack Wiley did not seek another term.


Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service