Fun, She & Him, Yeah Yeah Yeahs part of Kanrocksas ’13

03/01/2013 2:09 AM

05/16/2014 9:20 PM

The Grammy-winning band Fun and the duo She Him, which features “New Girl” actress Zooey Deschanel, are among the acts coming to the Kanrocksas Music Festival this summer.

Organizers announced the full two-day lineup on Thursday. It comprises more than 60 acts, including headliners Tiesto, rapper Kendrick Lamar and the country/roots band the Avett Brothers, which were announced in January.

Also announced Thursday: MGMT, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Passion Pit, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, and Sublime with Rome.

There may be no marquee star as big as Eminem, who headlined the inaugural festival two years ago, but organizers say they have put together a lineup that is loaded with names well known to music fans and others who are about to be.

“It’s a broad offering, very diverse,” said Bill Brandmeyer, the festival’s chief organizer.

“At the top, we don’t have what we had last time, but that was our plan. We were very strategic about how we were going to build this festival, and I feel like we were successful in landing acts who are fast-rising and some who haven’t played Kansas City in a while.”

Eminem and the rock band Muse were the headliners at Kanrocksas in August 2011, which drew about 50,000 people over two days. The festival was suspended in 2012, primarily because Kansas Speedway was under construction but also because the first festival suffered heavy financial losses. Thus the new strategy.

“It was almost a ‘Moneyball’ situation,” Brandmeyer said, referring to a strategy of small-market baseball management. “We felt like we could buy four to five great bands for the price of one. It was like a small-market philosophy to get the most of our money and offer something special.”

The festival will be June 28-29 at Kansas Speedway. Tickets for the festival are $175 and are available at

. Price for a camping pass is $25. Those prices will eventually rise to $190 and $50. VIP ticket information will be announced later.

The full lineup: Tiesto, Fun, MGMT, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Passion Pit, Kendrick Lamar, the Avett Brothers, Pretty Lights, Imagine Dragons, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, She Him, Miguel, Empire of the Sun, Sublime with Rome, T-Pain, Dropkick Murphys, Machine Gun Kelly, Zeds Dead, Hopsin, Borgore, Grimes, Baauer, Yeasayer, Rusko, A-Trak, Grouplove, ZZ Ward, Camera Obscura, Flosstradamus, Savoy, Danny Brown, the Descendents, Action Bronson, Aer, Trinidad James, Mimosa, Twenty One Pilots, Delta Rae, the Knocks, Polyphonic Spree, Son Volt, Killer Mike, Langhorne Slim, Three Loco, Destructo, Churchill, Robert DeLong, LowRiderz, Blondfire, Anna Lunoe, Air Dubai, Caitlin Rose, Empires, the Floozies, Beautiful Bodies, Congorock, Quiet Corral, Crookers.


Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service