Chow Town

The daily dish on Kansas City's food and drink scene

KC chefs left off list of James Beard award finalists

03/18/2014 11:28 AM

03/18/2014 11:50 AM

Better luck next year, chefs.

This morning,

the short list of finalists

for the 2014 James Beard Foundation awards was unveiled — and it did not include Kansas City’s three semifinalists.

Howard Hanna of

The Rieger Hotel Grill Exchange and Ted Habiger of Room 39 were semifinalists in the Best Chef: Midwest category, and Nick Wesemann of The American Restaurant

was a semifinalist in the Outstanding Pastry Chef category.

The James Beard awards are the highest national honor for food and beverage professionals. It’s not uncommon for a chef to be nominated several times before winning —

Colby Garrelts won Best Chef: Midwest

last year after being nominated seven times. Other local James Beard award-winning chefs include Michael Smith, Debbie Gold and Celina Tio.

Winners of the 2014 James Beard awards will be revealed in May at an awards ceremony in New York.

Read our recent interviews with Wesemann, Habiger and Hanna:

For James Beard Award semifinalist Nick Wesemann, nomination is sweet

James Beard Award semifinalist Ted Habiger hopes third time is a charm

James Beard Award semifinalist Howard Hanna proud to be part of Kansas City’s restaurant scene

Contact Sarah Gish via email at or tweet @sarah_gish.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service