More fall out as U.S. middle class shrinks further

The middle class that President Barack Obama identified in his State of the Union speech last week as the foundation of the American economy has been shrinking for almost half a century. Since 2000, the middle-class share of households has continued to narrow, the main reason being that more people have fallen to the bottom. At the same time, fewer of those in this group fit the traditional image of a married couple with children at home.


Three KC teens charged with murder in ‘senseless’ slaying of Alexis Kane, 14

Flanked by grieving family members of 14-year-old Alexis Kane, an emotional Jackson County Prosecutor Jean Peters Baker on Sunday announced murder charges against three suspects in Alexis’ slaying earlier this month. The defendants are all Kansas City residents. They were identified Sunday as Isaac M. Carter and Ce-Antonyo D. Kennedy, both 17, and Dominic McDaniel, 18.


Becoming Yordano: A journey to the launch point of the Royals’ rocket arm

Yordano Ventura quit school at 14 and was working construction until his big break: a tryout that led to a spot in the Kansas City Royals’ academy in the Dominican Republic. But even after making the major leagues and pitching in the World Series, Ventura wouldn’t live anywhere else than Las Terrenas, his hometown, where he trained on the beach and swam in the ocean.  

Get the Deal!

You Save:


Editor's Picks


Police use of sobriety eye exams is under fire in Missouri

Police officers embrace the HGN test as a reliable way to determine intoxication. But defense lawyers have for decades hotly derided it as “junk science.” Kansas courts never have allowed it as trial evidence. Some Missouri jurisdictions, weary of courtroom challenges, now are depending less on it.


Billy Butler says he would be ‘more than happy to come back’ to Royals someday

Billy Butler says he doesn’t believe his time with the Royals organization is finished despite signing with the Oakland A’s as a free agent this offseason. “It’s disappointing, but you understand that the game’s a business and I didn’t leave on bad terms,” the designated hitter said Sunday in Springfield as he was inducted into the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame. “I’d be more than happy to come back. That’s home for me.”

Kansas City Deals

Today's Circulars

Blogs & Columns


Special Projects

View More
View More


Subscriptions starting at 99 cents per month

Home Delivery Subscribers

Learn how to ACTIVATE
your full Digital Access

NOT a Subscriber?

Show my options >