Joco Sports

Joco sports notebook: SEC honors former Olathe Northwest diver

Updated: 2014-01-18T21:46:23Z


The Kansas City Star

Sophomore diver Clark Thomas of the University of Missouri was selected the Southeastern Conference Male Diver of the Week on Jan. 7 for his performance in the Georgia Diving Invitational.

Thomas, who never lost a diving meet in his high school career at Olathe Northwest, claimed the 3-meter title, set two career highs and earned two more top-six finishes at the meet. He bested his previous career-high in the 3-meter event by 17 points for a finals round score of 386.75. He also established a new career-high in the 1-meter prelims with a 365.65.

Another softball award for Olathe East

Long after the high school softball season ended, Kansas Class 6A defending state champion Olathe East is still raking in postseason awards.

After leading the Hawks to a second straight Kansas Class 6A state championship last season, Jeff Hulse was selected the National Softball Coach of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Associations Coaches Association.

The Hawks had a 24-1 record last season and won the school's 14th softball league championship since 1998. In that time, they have also captured eight state titles. Their lone loss last season came against Olathe Northwest on April 4, and they responded by rattling off 21 consecutive victories to close out the season.

The Hawks placed five players on the 6A Kansas Softball Coaches Association All-State Team led by junior pitcher Allison Stewart, who was also named the 2012-13 Gatorade Kansas Softball Player of the Year. She was joined by senior pitcher Jenni Brooks, senior shortstop Greer Hartman, junior center fielder McKenna Davis and junior second baseman Elizabeth Leonard. Stewart and Leonard were selected by the National Fast-pitch Coaches Association as 2nd and 3rd Team All-Americans.

Huskies hold on to top spot

Behind 34 points from Iowa State-signee Clayton Custer, Blue Valley Northwest defeated Lee’s Summit West 68-63 last Saturday in a Hy-Vee Shootout make-up game and improved to 4-1 on the season. The Huskies are the No. 1 team in the 6A Kansas Basketball Coaches Association rankings beating out Shawnee Mission South, Olathe East and Lawrence who rank second, fourth and fifth, respectively, in this week’s poll.

Basehor-Linwood, which had dropped from first to fifth place in the 4A-1 ranks, moved back to fourth place this week with victories against Turner and Tonganoxie.

Saints slip in KBCA poll

Despite winning both games in the last week, the St. Thomas Aquinas girls basketball team dropped one spot in the latest 5A Kansas Basketball Coaches Association poll after being passed by Wichita Kapaun-Mount Carmel. The Saints, who won the 5A championship last season have lost only to Columbia Rock Bridge in the Hy-Vee Shootout, but bounced back with two straight victories to improve to 4-1.

In 6A action, Olathe South and Blue Valley North held onto their third and fourth place rankings, respectively, and in 4A-1, Bishop Bishop Miege hung onto fourth.

Kansas all-state soccer

The following Johnson County area high school soccer players were selected to the Kansas all-state team:


Awards: Offensive player of year: Ian Arch, Blue Valley Northwest, Defensive player of year: Colton Southwell, Blue Valley Northwest, Goalkeeper of year: Sam Glass, Blue Valley Northwest, Coach of year: Rick Prybl, Blue Valley Northwest

First team: Ian Arch, BV Northwest, midfielder; Derek Bullis, BV West, midfielder; Andres Cooper, Olathe East, midfielder; Ryan Dickerson, Olathe East, forward; Noah Eidemiller, SM East, forward; Sam Glass, BV Northwest, goalkeeper; Ben McDonald, Blue Valley, forward; Brian Ness, Olathe Northwest, midfielder; Sam Taylor, BV Northwest, midfielder; Jackson Macubrie, Blue Valley, defender; Michael Mardikes, SM East, defender; Zac Marquess, Olathe East, defender; Evan Miller, SM Northwest, defender; Patrick Rydberg, Olathe East, goalkeeper; Colton Southwell, BV Northwest, defender

Second team: Cody Burns, Olathe South, forward; Luke Fischer, Gardner Edgerton, midfielder; Calvin Freeman, SM South, forward; Massi Giobbi, SM South, midfielder; Collin Jones, SM Northwest, forward; Joe Lesko, Blue Valley, defender; Andrew McClanahan, SM East, midfielder; Sam Roussopoulos, Blue Valley, forward

Honorable mention: Colin Dujakovich, SM North, defender; Cole Nelson, SM Northwest, midfielder; Will Skoog, SM South, goalkeeper


Awards: Offensive player of year: Nick Hagenkord, ST Aquinas; Defensive player of year: Matthew Holland, ST Aquinas; Coach of year: Craig Ewing, ST Aquinas.

First team: Matthew Brown, ST Aquinas, defender; Steven Enna, St. James, forward; Nick Franks, St. James, midfielder; Nick Hagenkord, ST Aquinas, midfielder; Alexander Hintz, BV Southwest, midfielder; Matthew Holland, ST Aquinas, defender; Spencer Jones, St. James, forward; Cody Knight, Mill Valley, defender; Jack Lopez, Mill Valley, midfielder; Blake Nearmyer, St. James, defender

Second team: Jacob Flores, BV Southwest, defender; Kevin McKinney, BV Southwest, midfielder; Jack Tobin, BV Southwest, forward

Honorable mention: Bailey Weeks, Mill Valley, defender


Awards: Defensive player of year: Brandon Ramirez, Bishop Miege; Coach of year: Joe Huppe, Bishop Miege.

First team: Alejandro Carlos, De Soto, defender; Lucas Franco, Bishop Miege, defender; Patrick McEldowney, KC Christian, forward; Nate Mohler, Bishop Miege, defender; Brandon Ramirez, Bishop Miege, defender; Dustin Seibolt, De Soto, midfielder.

Second team: Clark Campbell, Heritage Christian, midfielder; Nico Marquez, Bishop Miege, defender; Mikey Mitchell, Heritage Christian, goalkeeper; J.T. Trott, KC Christian, defender; Drew Schmucker, De Soto, midfielder; Eric Williams, De Soto, goalkeeper

Honorable mention: Jonathan Baxter, Heritage Christian, defender

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here