Breaking News

Chiefs lead pro football writers’ all-league honors

Updated: 2014-03-10T20:08:12Z


The Kansas City Star

It’s little consolation to Chiefs fans still disappointed by their first-round playoff loss, but the club placed a league-most three players — running back Jamaal Charles, safety Eric Berry and punt returner Dexter McCluster — on the 2013 All-NFL team chosen by the Professional Football Writers of America.

Five players repeated from the football writers’ 2012 All-NFL team: Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning, Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson, Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt, and two players from the Seattle Seahawks, cornerback Richard Sherman and safety Earl Thomas.

The football writers also announced the All-AFC and All-NFC teams. The Chiefs led all AFC teams with seven selections _ Charles, Berry, McCluster, offensive tackle Branden Albert, nose tackle Dontari Poe, outside linebacker Justin Houston and kickoff returner Quintin Demps. The Seahawks led all NFC clubs with four selections.

The PFWA’s coach, assistant coach and executive of the year will be announced Thursday.

All-NFL offense

•  QB: Peyton Manning, Denver

•  RB: Jamaal Charles, Chiefs; LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia

•  WR: Josh Gordon, Cleveland; Calvin Johnson, Detroit

•  TE: Jimmy Graham, New Orleans

•  C: Ryan Kalil, Carolina

•  G: Evan Mathis, Philadelphia; Louis Vasquez, Denver

•  T: Joe Staley, San Francisco; Joe Thomas, Cleveland

All-NFL defense

•  DE: Robert Quinn, St. Louis; J.J. Watt, Houston

•  DT: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit

•  OLB: Lavonte David, Tampa Bay; Robert Mathis, Indianapolis

•  MLB: Luke Kuechly, Carolina

•  CB: Richard Sherman, Seattle; Patrick Peterson, Arizona

•  S: Eric Berry, Chiefs; Earl Thomas, Seattle

All-NFL special teams

•  PK: Justin Tucker, Baltimore

•  P: Johnny Hekker, St. Louis

•  KR: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota

•  PR: Dexter McCluster, Chiefs

•  ST: Justin Bethel, Arizona

All-AFC offense

•  QB: Peyton Manning, Denver

•  RB: Jamaal Charles, Chiefs; Ryan Mathews, San Diego

•  WR: Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh; Josh Gordon, Cleveland

•  TE: Jordan Cameron, Cleveland

•  C: Alex Mack, Cleveland

•  G: Logan Mankins, New England; Louis Vasquez, Denver

•  T: Branden Albert, Chiefs; Joe Thomas, Cleveland

All-AFC defense

•  DE: Cameron Wake, Miami; J.J. Watt, Houston

•  DT: Jurrell Casey, Tennessee; Dontari Poe, Chiefs

•  OLB: Justin Houston, Chiefs; Robert Mathis, Indianapolis

•  MLB: Vontaze Burfict, Cincinnati

•  CB: Brent Grimes, Miami; Joe Haden, Cleveland

•  S: Eric Berry, Chiefs; Eric Weddle, San Diego

All-AFC special teams

•  PK: Justin Tucker, Baltimore

•  P: Brandon Fields, Miami

•  KR: Quintin Demps, Chiefs

•  PR: Dexter McCluster, Chiefs

•  ST: Matthew Slater, New England

To reach Randy Covitz, call 816-234-4796 or send email to Follow him at

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here