Red Zone

Chiefs break NFL record for consecutive playoff defeats

Updated: 2014-01-05T01:40:33Z

The Kansas City Star

The Chiefs broke the NFL record for consecutive postseason losses at eight Saturday with their 45-44 loss at Indianapolis on Saturday in the opening round of the AFC playoffs.

Entering Saturday, the Detroit Lions and Chiefs held active streaks of seven consecutive losses. Detroit missed this year’s playoffs, so they could tie the Chiefs’ record next season.

The Chiefs’ last playoff win was 28-20 against the Oilers in Houston following the 1993 season. The Chiefs lost the following game, the AFC championship, at Buffalo.

Most consecutive NFL playoff losses

8Chiefs1993-95, 1997, 2003, 2006, 2010, 2013*
7Detroit1991, 1993-95, 1997,1999, 2011*
6 (tie)N.Y. Giants1939, 1941, 1943-44, 1946, 1950
Cleveland1969, 1971-72, 1980, 1982, 1985
Minnesota1988-89, 1992-94, 1996
Seattle1984, 1987-88, 1999, 2003-04
Dallas1996, 1998-99, 2003, 2006-07

*active streak

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here