Red Zone

Chiefs’ Jamaal Charles remains among top vote-getters for Pro Bowl

Updated: 2013-12-12T14:05:36Z


The Kansas City Star

The Chiefs, befitting a team with one of the best records in the NFL, are among the league leaders in balloting for this season’s Pro Bowl.

Running back Jamaal Charles continues to rank among the top five vote-getters for the 2014 Pro Bowl, and outside linebacker Tamba Hali, offensive tackle Branden Albert, and punter Dustin Colquitt are the top vote-getters at their positions.

Chiefs guard Jeff Allen, nose tackle Dontari Poe and strong safety Eric Berry are the second-leading vote-getters at their position.

With two weeks remaining in the balloting, Denver quarterback Peyton Manning leads all players with 1,093,691 votes, followed by New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees, with 934,772 votes.

Seattle running back Marshawn Lynch (745,286 votes), Charles (739,971) and Detroit wide receiver Calvin Johnson (739,701) round out the top five.

Fan voting for the 2014 Pro Bowl, presented by McDonald’s, will continue online and on web-enabled mobile phones by going to until 5 p.m. Central time, Dec. 26. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes Dec. 23 through 26.

The Pro Bowl players will be announced on Friday, Dec. 27. Players will later be assigned to teams through the first-ever Pro Bowl Draft instead of the traditional AFC vs. NFC format. The 2014 Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 26 in Honolulu.

To reach Randy Covitz, call 816-234-4796 or send email to Follow him at

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here