Campus Corner

KC, other cities will learn NCAA title sites today

Updated: 2013-12-11T06:57:04Z


The Kansas City Star

Today at noon, Kansas City and other cities around the nation will learn their NCAA Championship future.

The NCAA will announce the sites for 82 championships, spread across three classifications for 2014-18. A total of 523 event sites will be announced on the organization’s website at midday.

The NCAA received 1,984 bid applications, and Kansas City pursued several championships.

In October, the NCAA reduced the fields, and Kansas City was a finalist for Division I volleyball and wrestling at the Sprint Center, and men’s soccer and women’s soccer tournaments at Sporting Park.

The city also was a finalist for Division II football at Sporting Park and men’s soccer and women’s soccer finals at Swope Village.

Basketball championships were not part of this bid process.

The competition for championships where Kansas City is a finalist:

Division I

•  Men’s soccer: Kansas City; Cary, N.C.; Houston; Philadelphia.

•  Women’s soccer: Kansas City; San Antonio; College Station, Texas; San Jose, Calif.; Portland, Ore.; Jacksonville, Fla.; Louisville, Ky.; Boca Raton, Fla.; Orlando, Fla.; Cary; Santa Barbara, Calif.

•  Volleyball: Kansas City; Chicago; Pittsburgh; Columbus, Ohio; Louisville; Minneapolis; Omaha, Neb.

•  Wrestling: Kansas City, New York, Louisville, Cleveland, St. Louis, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Oklahoma City

Division II

•  Football: Kansas City; Florence, Ala.; Bentonville, Ark.

•  Men’s and women’s soccer: Kansas City; Louisville; Evans, Ga.; Orlando; Pensacola, Fla.

To reach Blair Kerkhoff, call 816-234-4730 or send email to Follow him at

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here