Campus Corner

Missouri, Kansas dominate coaches’ all-region teams

Updated: 2013-12-10T20:53:35Z

The Kansas City Star

Kansas’ Ray Bechard, who has the Jayhawks in the NCAA Sweet 16 for the first time, and Missouri’s Wayne Kreklow, who led the Tigers to an undefeated regular season and the school’s first Southeastern Conference title in any sport, were both chosen regional coaches of the year Tuesday by the American Volleyball Coaches Association.

Four KU players made the all-Midwest Region first team: junior right-side hitter Chelsea Albers, senior middle blocker Caroline Jarmoc, junior outside hitter Sara McClinton and senior setter Erin McNorton. Jayhawks’ middle blocker Tayler Soucie was freshman of the year.

Also on the team were Wichita State senior middle blocker Ashley Andrade and senior setter Chelsey Feekin and Missouri State senior setter Carly Thomas.

Four Missouri players made the all-Southeast Region first team: outside hitter Carly Kan, who was also freshman of the year, senior setter Molly Kreklow, senior right-side hitter Lisa Henning of Blue Springs and junior middle blocker Whitney Little.

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here