High schools

Blue Springs’ Warmack among four Simone finalists

Updated: 2013-12-04T05:40:24Z


The Kansas City Star

Blue Springs senior running back Dalvin Warmack is closing in on becoming the first two-time winner of the Thomas A. Simone Award, given annually to the top high school football player in Kansas City.

Warmack, who received the honor last year, was one of four finalists announced Tuesday for the 31st annual Simone Award. He was joined by Kearney running back Brock Broughton, Lee's Summit quarterback Drew Lock and Gardner-Edgerton tailback Traevohn Wrench. All four players are seniors. The winner will be announced Tuesday.

Other finalists:

• Frank Fontana (best small-class player of the year): Baldwin quarterback Chad Berg, Oak Grove running back Aaron Graham, Pleasant Hill quarterback Josh Shewmaker, Holden running back Austin Tevis.

• Buck Buchanan (best big class lineman/linebacker): Blue Springs linebacker Elijah Lee, Olathe South offensive tackle Braden Smith, Olathe North linebacker Jimmie Swain, Blue Springs South linebacker Josh Watson.

• Bobby Bell (best small-class lineman/linebacker): Piper linebacker Colton Beebe, Hogan Prep linebacker Ryan Franks, Raytown South defensive end Casey McDermott, Oak Grove linebacker Ethan Fugitt.

• Otis Taylor (top wide receiver): Lansing senior Khalil Bailey, Lee's Summit West senior Monte Harrison, Shawnee Mission West senior Andre Maloney, Blue Springs senior Darrius Shepherd.

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here