Holiday Lights

Who has thrown the switch at the Plaza Lights ceremony?

Updated: 2013-11-29T01:31:42Z

2013 Rob Riggle

2012 Matt Besler, Jimmy Nielsen and Kei Kamara

2011 Eric Stonestreet

2010 Jamaal Charles and Thomas Jones

2009 Jason Sudeikis

2008 David Cook

2007 Hometown soldiers from each branch of the U.S. military

2006 Bobby Bell, Willie Lanier and Clark and Tavia Hunt

2005 Dick and Carol Vermeil

2004 Mickey and Minnie Mouse

2003 Kate Spade

2002 Trent Green

2001 Tony Gonzalez

2000 Maurice Greene

1999 George Brett (again)

1998 Paul Rudd

1997 Marcus Allen

1996 Buck O’Neil

1995 Roy Williams

1994 Derrick Thomas

1991 Oleta Adams

1990 Lee Greenwood

1989 Dee Wallace

1983 Nicolette Larson

Other switch flippers: Walter Cronkite, Tom Watson, William Christopher

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here