Red Zone

Seventh heaven: How 7-0 NFL teams have fared

Updated: 2013-10-21T21:13:25Z


The Kansas City Star

The Chiefs improved to 7-0 with Sunday’s 17-16 win over Houston. In the Super Bowl era, all 31 teams that have started 7-0 qualified for the playoffs.

Fifteen of those 31 clubs, including Andy Reid’s 2004 Philadelphia Eagles, advanced to the Super Bowl. Nine won the Super Bowl.

Season Team Start Finish Playoffs
2013Chiefs7-0TBD TBD
2012Atlanta8-013-3Lost NFC championship
2011Green Bay13-015-1Lost NFC divisional playoff
2009Indianapolis14-014-2Lost Super Bowl
2009New Orleans13-013-3Won Super Bowl
2008Tennessee10-013-3Lost AFC divisional playoff
2007Indianapolis7-013-3Lost AFC divisional playoff
2007New England16-016-0Lost Super Bowl
2006Chicago Bears7-013-3Lost Super Bowl
2006Indianapolis9-012-4Won Super Bowl
2005Indianapolis13-014-2Lost AFC divisional playoff
2004Philadelphia7-013-3Lost Super Bowl
2003Chiefs9-013-3Lost AFC divisional playoff
2000 Minnesota 7-011-5Lost NFC championship
1998Denver13-014-2Won Super Bowl
1998Minnesota7-015-1Lost NFC championship
1991New Orleans7-011-5Lost NFC wild-card playoff
1991Washington11-014-2Won Super Bowl
1990NY Giants10-013-3Won Super Bowl
1990San Francisco10-014-2Lost NFC championship
1985Chicago12-015-1Won Super Bowl
1985LA Rams7-011-5Lost NFC championship
1984Miami11-014-2Lost Super Bowl
1983Dallas7-012-4Lost NFC wild-card playoff
1978LA Rams7-012-4Lost NFC championship
1978Pittsburgh7-014-2Won Super Bowl
1977Dallas8-012-2Won Super Bowl
1975Minnesota10-012-2Lost NFC divisional playoff
1974St. Louis Cardinals7-010-4Lost NFC divisional playoff
1973Minnesota9-012-2Lost Super Bowl
1972Miami14-014-0Won Super Bowl
1969LA Rams11-011-3Lost NFC championship

To reach Randy Covitz, call 816-234-4796 or send email to Follow him at

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here