School news in brief

Updated: 2013-07-03T04:36:11Z


Sheriffs’ scholarship: Blake Shepheard, an 18-year-old graduate of Raytown High School, has received a $1,000 John Dennis Scholarship from the Missouri Sheriffs’ Association.

The association established the scholarship in 1988 for Missouri students pursuing careers in criminal justice. Shepheard plans to attend Missouri State University and pursue a double major in criminal justice and criminology with an emphasis in homeland security, according to a news release from the Jackson County Sheriff..

He aspires to work for the FBI.


Dance teams: The following students have been chosen for Belton High School’s dance teams for the upcoming school year:

• Varsity: Becca Kasper, Madison Page, Haley Scharrer, Ashley Thompson, Kaitlyn Gonzalez, Kaycie Hall, Madisen Staats, Megan Kelsey, Shyanne Jackson, Tiffany Tarpley, Chloe Miller, Caitlyn Stegner, Alison Connelly, Carissa Thompson, Cassie Schmill and T'andra Smith.

• Junior varsity: Ashleigh Austin and Ramiro Gonzalez- captains, Daraja Pollard- Scott, Gabrielle Allen, Ashley Wiley, and Ashton Bennett.

• Matey's: Mackenzie Cobb, Madisen Daniels, Caylee Richardson, Cassie O'Keefe, Emma Czar, Tori Rowell, and Felecity Keesler.

Blue Springs

School supply drive: Through July 30, Foster Dental Care is hosting a school supply drive to benefit the Blue Springs Community Services League. For each school supply item donated brought to the office at 2150 N.W. South Outer Road, the dental practice will donate a youth toothbrush.

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here