Breaking News

Two challenge president in Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod election

Updated: 2013-04-17T11:51:39Z

— Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod President Matthew Harrison will face two challengers in an upcoming election.

The St. Louis-based church announced the slate of candidates on Tuesday. Harrison is opposed by the Rev. Herbert C. Mueller Jr. and the Rev. David P.E. Maier.

Voting will occur June 22-25 over the Internet, with each LCMS congregation or parish getting two voting delegates to the district convention in July. If no candidate receives a majority of votes, the third-place candidate will be dropped from the ballot and a second vote will be taken a week later.

The results will be shared with the candidates prior to the convention, then with the public.

The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod has 6,200 congregations and 2.3 million members.

| The Associated Press

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here