Breaking News

Mayors ousted in North Kansas CIty and Sugar Creek

Updated: 2013-04-03T03:55:38Z


The Kansas City Star

Missouri voters on both sides of the river elected candidates to municipal offices on Tuesday.

•  North Kansas City: Donald Stielow knocked incumbent Bill Biggerstaff out of his mayoral post. Stielow captured 67 percent of the vote. He was followed by Jerry Barham, who got 18 percent. Biggerstaff, a retired police chief and former City Council member, received 14 percent. Danny Shipp finished fourth.

The candidates said their top priority was to resolve issues between North Kansas City Hospital and the city. The city has hired an investment banker to look into selling the hospital.

•  Liberty: The city has a new mayor in Lyndell W. Brenton, who thrashed Travis G. Stoufer by winning 80 percent of the vote. He will replace Greg Canuteson, who did not seek another term. Each candidate stressed the importance of working with the school district.

• Gladstone: Bill Garnos, elected to the City Council in 2012, held back two challengers, receiving 41 percent of the votes against Linda Morrison and Donald Ward.

•  Belton: Jeff Davis will be the next mayor of Belton. He replaces Jimmy Odom, who moved to the Cass County Commission. Davis and Davidson, who both have City Council experience, received 57 percent and 40 percent of the vote. Ricky Patel got 3 percent.

•  Grandview: Mayor Steve Dennis kept his post by defeating Leonard D. Jones Jr. and political stalwart Jan Martinette. Dennis, who captured 63 percent of the vote, has said he wants to push to redevelop the Truman Corners Shopping Center as well as the Missouri 150 Corridor.

•  Sugar Creek: Mayor Stanley J. Salva missed out on an eighth term, losing to Matt Mallinson, a member of the Independence school board. Mallinson got 50 percent to Salva’s 45 percent. Also running was Leonard Fullbright.

•  Raymore: In a mayoral rematch, the results were the same as last time. Incumbent Peter Kerckhoff again defeated City Councilman Jeffrey Adams. Kerckhoff won 78 percent of the vote.

Blue Springs: With 81 percent of the vote, Councilman Dale Carter overwhelmed Preston Smith in District 1. Carter stressed regional rail and the Woods Chapel Road corridor. Planning commissioner Susan Culpepper won with 60 percent support over Michael Freeman in District 1. One of her priorities was properly equipping the police and fire departments.

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here