Campus Corner

Washburn player shares MIAA player of year award

Updated: 2013-03-06T05:28:38Z

The Kansas City Star

Washburn’s Laura Kinderknecht and Northeastern State’s Taylor Lewis were selected co-players of the year in the MIAA, the conference announced Tuesday.

Ron McHenry, who guided Washburn to both an MIAA title and the tournament top seed, was selected coach of the year.

Kinderknecht finished the regular season seventh in the MIAA in scoring, 10th in assists, ninth in three-point percentage and third in three-pointers made. Lewis was second in the league in scoring, and she led the league in free-throw percentage and three-point field goals made.

Kinderknecht and Lewis were joined on the all-MIAA first team by Central Missouri’s Keuna Flax, Fort Hays State’s Kate Lehman and Lizzy Jeronimus of Pittsburg State.

Lahman was the defensive player of the year and Brook Duncan of Southwest Baptist was selected the top freshman.

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here