Campus Corner

Brian Agler heads UMKC sports hall of fame class

Updated: 2013-01-24T23:27:02Z

The Kansas City Star

Brian Agler, who led the Seattle Storm to the WNBA championship in 2010, is one of eight members who will be inducted into the UMKC Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday.

Agler coached the Kangaroos from 1988-93 and compiled an 85-54 record. The 1992 team won a school-record 24 games. He later became the head coach at Kansas State.

Also to be inducted in Friday’s ceremony at the Downtown Marriott are former athletes Richard Harrison (tennis), Dion McNeal (track and field), Mary Michalski (basketball), Willie White (track and field), Jason Woods (soccer), Willie Jones (basketball), Keith Schrelman (contributor) and the 1998-99 men’s tennis team that won the Mid-Continent Conference championship and recorded the first NCAA Tournament berth in school history.

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here