FC Kansas City

Women’s soccer league gets stars

Updated: 2013-02-13T20:49:43Z

A newly formed women’s outdoor soccer league will have its share of star power.

A mere three months from beginning its inaugural season, the eight-team National Women’s Soccer League — which includes FC Kansas City — announced that all 18 members of the U.S. national team that won gold in the 2012 Olympics have jumped on board.

That includes stars Hope Solo, Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan. None of those three, however, are expected to wind up as a member of FC Kansas City, nicknamed the Blues.

The NWSL released a player allocation list Wednesday that features 55 U.S., Canadian and Mexican national team players who will play in the league.

The players’ specific destinations will be released Friday. The 55 national team players — 23 from the U.S. and 16 each from Canada and Mexico — will be evenly distributed among the eight teams.

Thirteen from the Canadian bronze-medal team in 2012 have joined, including forward Christine Sinclair and goalie Erin McLeod.

In the coming weeks, FC Kansas City will fill out its roster with free agents and through the college draft, which is Jan. 18 in Indianapolis.

The Blues will have 11 home games. The club remains undecided on its home complex.

| Sam McDowell, smcdowell@kcstar.com

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here