Ball Star

Legacy Award winners announced

Updated: 2012-11-17T03:44:25Z

There was great gnashing of teeth among some baseball fans when Angels’ rookie Mike Trout was beaten out for the American League MVP award this week.

But Trout is the big winner of the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum Legacy Awards Class of 2012.

Trout and Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen will receive the Oscar Charleston Award given annually to the American League and National League MVPs. Trout will also pick up two other awards after being named the AL Larry Doby Rookie of the Year winner and the Cool Papa Bell Award for his major league-leading 49 stolen bases.

The NLBM will honor the winners in a ceremony Jan. 12, 2013 at 8 p.m. at the Gem Theater.

The Legacy Awards, established by the Negro Leagues museum in 2000, recognizes the best major league baseball players, managers, and executives, with awards given in the name, and spirit, of Negro Leagues legends.

Legacy Awards recipients

Oscar Charleston Award (MVPs): Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels and Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates

Wilbur “Bullet” Rogan Award (pitchers of the year): David Price, Tampa Bay Rays and R.A. Dickey, New York Mets

Josh Gibson Award (home run leaders): Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers and Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers

James “Cool Papa” Bell Award (stolen base leaders): Trout and Everth Cabrera, San Diego Padres

Walter “Buck” Leonard Award (batting champions): Cabrera, Tigers, and Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants

Larry Doby Award (rookies of the year): Trout and Bryce Harper, Washington Nationals

Hilton Smith Award (relievers of the year): Jim Johnson, Baltimore Orioles, Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves and Jason Motte, St. Louis Cardinals

John Henry “Pop” Lloyd Award (baseball and community leadership): Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles

Andrew “Rube” Foster Award (executives of the year): Billy Beane, Oakland Athletics and John Mozeliak, St. Louis Cardinals

Charles Isham “C. I.” Taylor Award (managers of the year): Buck Showalter, Baltimore Orioles and Dusty Baker, Cincinnati Reds

Sam Lacy Award (baseball journalist of the year): Harold Reynolds, MLB Network

Jackie Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award (career excellence): Charley Pride, former Negro Leaguer and country musician

John “Buck” O’Neil Award (outstanding support of the Negro Leagues museum): Joe Posnanski, author/sports writer and James B. Nutter & Company

Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here