Print This Article Back to web version

MU's Fisher, Gaines on media's preseason all-SEC team

The Kansas City Star

Less than a week after the coaches released their preseason all-SEC team, it looks like Missouri is going to have earn a little respect from the league's media, as well.

Left tackle Elvis Fisher and cornerback E.J. Gaines were Missouri's only selections, and both chosen to the third team. And just like the coaches' team -- which linebacker Zaviar Gooden and receiver T.J. Moe each made, along with Fisher and Gaines -- MU and Mississippi were the only schools in the 14-team league to fail to get a first or second teamer.

In all, 10 more schools have more players on the team than Missouri. Vandy also has two players on the team, while Kentucky and Mississippi each have one. Texas A&M, a team the Tigers have beaten each of the last two season in College Station, Texas, has four players, including two first-teamers in offensive lineman Luke Joeckel and outside linebacker Sean Porter. Receiver Ryan Swope, the subject of some good-natured ribbing by Moe earlier this week, was chosen to the second team after being selected to the coaches' first team.

Former Park Hill punter Steven Clark, an Auburn junior, was chosen to the second team.

The SEC also released its preseason media poll. Missouri was picked to finish fourth in the SEC East behind Georgia, South Carolina and Florida. Tennessee, Vandy and Kentucky round out the division.

First-Team Offense
QB Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, Sr.; RB Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina, Jr.; RB Knile Davis, Arkansas, Jr.; WR Da'Rick Rogers, Tennessee, Jr.; WR Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas, Sr.; TE Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn, Sr.; OL D.J. Fluker, Alabama, Jr.; OL Alex Hurst, LSU, Sr.; OL Chance Warmack, Alabama, Sr.; OL Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M, Jr.; C Barrett Jones, Alabama, Sr.

Second-Team Offense
QB Aaron Murray, Georgia, Jr.; RB Eddie Lacy, Alabama, Jr.; RB Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt, Sr.; WR Ryan Swope, Texas A&M, Sr.; WR Justin Hunter, Tennessee, Jr.; TE Chris Gragg, Arkansas, Sr.; OL Larry Warford, Kentucky, Sr.; OL Chris Faulk, LSU, Jr.; OL Alvin Bailey, Arkansas, Jr.; OL Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, Jr.; C Reese Dismukes, Auburn, So.; C P.J. Longergan, LSU, Sr.; C T.J. Johnson, South Carolina, Sr.

Third-Team Offense
QB A.J. McCarron, Alabama, Jr.; RB Onterio McCalebb, Auburn, Sr.; RB Spencer Ware, LSU, Jr.; WR Emory Blake, Auburn, Sr.; WR Tavarres King, Georgia, Sr.; TE Michael Williams, Alabama, Sr.; OL Kenarious Gates, Georgia, Jr.; OL Xavier Nixon, Florida, Sr.; OL Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee, Jr.; OL Elvis Fisher, Missouri, Sr.; C Patrick Lewis, Texas A&M, Sr.

First-Team Defense
DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, So.; DL Barkevious Mingo, 6-5, Jr.; DL Sam Montgomery, LSU, Jr.; DL Corey Lemonier, Auburn, Jr.; ILB Nico Johnson, Alabama, Sr.; OLB Jarvis Jones, Georgia, Jr.; OLB Sean Porter, Texas A&M, Sr.; DB Tyrann Mathieu, LSU, Jr.; DB Eric Reid, LSU, Jr.; DB Robert Lester, Alabama. Sr.; DB Bacarri Rambo, Georgia, Sr.

Second-Team Defense
DL Jesse Williams, Alabama, Sr.; DL John Jenkins, Georgia, Sr.; DL Damion Square, Alabama, Sr.; DL Devin Taylor, South Carolina, Sr.; ILB C.J. Mosley, Alabama, Jr.; OLB Alonzo Highsmith, Arkansas, Sr.; OLB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, So.; DB Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State, Sr.; DB Dee Milliner, Alabama, Jr.; DB D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina, Sr.; DB Matt Elam, Florida, Jr.

Third-Team Defense
DL Sharrif Floyd, Florida, Jr.; DL Dominique Easley, Florida, Jr.; DL Bennie Logan, LSU, Jr.; DL Nosa Equae, Auburn, Jr.; ILB Jon Bostic, Florida, Sr.; OLB Cam Lawrence, Mississippi State, Sr.; OLB DeVonte Holloman, South Carolina, Sr.; DB T'Sharvin Bell, Auburn, Sr.; DB E.J. Gaines, Missouri, Jr.; DB Prentiss Waggner, Tennessee, Sr.; DB Tharold Simon, LSU, Jr.; DB Trey Wilson, Vanderbilt, Sr.; DB Charles Sawyer, Mississippi, Jr.

First-Team Specialists
P Brad Wing, LSU, So.; PK Caleb Sturgis, Florida, Sr.; Return specialist Tyrann Mathieu, LSU, Jr.; All-purpose Dennis Johnson, Arkansas, Jr.

Second-Team Specialists
P Steven Clark, Auburn, Jr.; PK Drew Alleman, LSU, Sr.; Return specialist Onterio McCalebb, Auburn, Sr.; All-purpose Bruce Ellington, South Carolina, So.

Third-Team Specialists
P Dylan Breeding, Arkansas, Sr.; PK Cody Parkey, Auburn, Jr.; Return specialist Andre Debose, Florida, Jr.; All-purpose Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State, Sr.

Preseason SEC media poll
Eastern Division (First-place votes)

1. Georgia (132) 1,434
2. South Carolina (72) 1,358
3. Florida (12) 1,045
4. Missouri (2) 797
5. Tennessee (4) 718
6. Vanderbilt 598
7. Kentucky 266

Western Division (First-place votes)
1. LSU (139) 1,449
2. Alabama (72) 1,379
3. Arkansas (6) 1,093
4. Auburn (4) 827
5. Texas A&M 653
6. Mississippi State 554
7. Mississippi (1) 261

© 2014 Kansas City Star and wire service sources. All Rights Reserved.