Print This Article Back to web version

Four Tigers make the coaches' preseason All-SEC team

The Kansas City Star

The coaches from the Southeastern Conference released their preseason All-SEC team this morning, and the results are pretty interesting.

The Tigers had four players - receiver T.J. Moe, left tackle Elvis Fisher, linebacker Zaviar Gooden and cornerback E.J. Gaines - named to the league's third team, but Missouri was the only school in the league not to receive a first or second team selection.

Vanderbilt was close to join Missouri in that regard - the Commodores didn't have a first teamer either - but running back Zac Stacy was named to the second team at running back.

The list is predictably dominated by annual heavy-hitters like LSU and Alabama. LSU has a league-high seven players on the first team, while Alabama has four first teamers. Both schools each had 11 players named to the team, in all, while Arkansas had the next-highest with 10.

Texas A&M, who bolted the Big 12 along with Missouri, had three players - receiver Ryan Swope, offensive lineman Luke Joeckel and linebacker Sean Porter - named to the league's first team.

To reach Terez A. Paylor, call 816-234-4489 or send email to Follow him at


Read more here:

© 2014 Kansas City Star and wire service sources. All Rights Reserved.